Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
What a mess! This was a disaster of a pie crust from the start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am using this recipe with a lot of success for my apple pies, for pumpkin pies, even strudels and turn overs...it's fantastic, easy to work with, final product is awesomely flaky. I love simplicity and awesomeness of the final product. Just one important note... the best it's the same day. But because it's so easy to get it ready, it's not a problem to bake a fresh pie the same day you plan to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Ok, so i read the good and the bad reviews and decided to give it a chance... big mistake! I use to have a recipe for pie crust buy i lost it so i think why not? it's look easy and with good reviews. I put everything on the freezer first (i always do that when making pie crust) and did it step by step. It was just to difficult to work with because a cup of shortener is too much!!! I will never ever try this recipe again and i really can't recommend it to anyone, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried to salvage this recipe but even with my efforts it was bland, TOO flaky, and almost impossible to work with. I like my crust to have some bite to it. Some density! I like to taste the crust! It needs butter instead of shortening, and far more water than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was amazing, so flaky, yummy and it made enough to have extra dough for turnovers. I only made one small substitution, used butter instead of shortening and ice cold water. don't miss this it's really good...I would also reduce the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this last minute because I had extra pie filling. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have the time to let the dough refrigerate overnight. I chilled mine for about 30 minutes and it came out perfect! It probably would've been even better if I chilled it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I use lard instead of shortening and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried all sorts of crust recipes and this one by far takes the cake. The dough would roll out but all it did was bust up. I ended up just pressing it into the bottom of the pan. I was so disappointed especially after all the rave reviews. It was for a cherry pie using my dad's first picking of cherries off his cherry tree. :( I went ahead and used it because I didn't have time to make another recipe since I had already waited on this one to chill etc and have to work tomorrow. All I can say is it better taste better than it rolls. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States