Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Ok, so i read the good and the bad reviews and decided to give it a chance... big mistake! I use to have a recipe for pie crust buy i lost it so i think why not? it's look easy and with good reviews. I put everything on the freezer first (i always do that when making pie crust) and did it step by step. It was just to difficult to work with because a cup of shortener is too much!!! I will never ever try this recipe again and i really can't recommend it to anyone, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried to salvage this recipe but even with my efforts it was bland, TOO flaky, and almost impossible to work with. I like my crust to have some bite to it. Some density! I like to taste the crust! It needs butter instead of shortening, and far more water than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was amazing, so flaky, yummy and it made enough to have extra dough for turnovers. I only made one small substitution, used butter instead of shortening and ice cold water. don't miss this it's really good...I would also reduce the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this last minute because I had extra pie filling. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have the time to let the dough refrigerate overnight. I chilled mine for about 30 minutes and it came out perfect! It probably would've been even better if I chilled it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I use lard instead of shortening and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried all sorts of crust recipes and this one by far takes the cake. The dough would roll out but all it did was bust up. I ended up just pressing it into the bottom of the pan. I was so disappointed especially after all the rave reviews. It was for a cherry pie using my dad's first picking of cherries off his cherry tree. :( I went ahead and used it because I didn't have time to make another recipe since I had already waited on this one to chill etc and have to work tomorrow. All I can say is it better taste better than it rolls. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good crust for a shortening based crust. Not sure how it could go so wrong for other people who have tried it. I had to add a tad more water for it to come together. My pie recipe called for 10 minutes at 425 and 40-50 minutes at 375. Was very flaky and deeee-llish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and I have to agree with naples34102, the dough in the original recipe comes out with too much fat in it. So I had to add a substantial amount of flour to make it work, which in turn is a different recipe, so in conclusion - this recipe does not work as stated and as such I have to give it a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States