Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Exceptional pie crust! Hasn't let me down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used this for a shepherds pie recipe and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used this recipe and it was great. A good tip to keep in mind: is to use everything COLD! Even the knife to half the dough with. I put an ice in the water to keep it chill and I only used half butter & half shortening. I actually didn't have enough of the shortening but it still came out great. Also, keep in mind not to work on it too much since it will toughen the dough. When rolling the dough I put it between platic wraps to keep from sticking. You can also put flour but the plastic wraps worked wonders for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I wasn't sure if I was making the dough properly, but with prayer and following directions it came out pretty good. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as written. I added the water with my KitchenAid. I didn't even take the time to chill it, and it was wonderful. Those people that didn't have it turn out right didn't do it right! ;) Hubby even liked it, and that is worth 5 stars in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good base recipe - I use it for my meal pies (meat, chicken, pork...) with a few alterations. I added equal amounts sugar to salt - I also multiply by 50% for a top bottom crust - for a bottom only i just leave alone - also use 50/50 on the shortening to unsalted butter. You need to let sit in fridge - makes it a lot easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My first time ever to make a pie crust and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Welbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my first ever attempt at pie crust. The recipe is fast, simple and just about fool proof. It baked up very nicely ~ flaky & tender. I've rated it 4 instead of 5 stars because in dividing it in half as it says, my crust seemed to be very thin by the time I rolled it out for my pan. Next time, I think I'll make 50% more dough before dividing it in half and see if that's enough for a more substantial crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've always had some difficulty when making pie crusts. The instructions for this one are what helped me turn a corner. I'd never refrigerated my dough before, and it made it so much easier to work with - making me not overwork the dough, like it says. My result was a nice, light, perfectly flaky crust. Thanks for the advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. 1 cup of shortening -- REALLY?! This came out like cookie dough -- refrigerated it and everything. Couldn't use the rolling pin and didn't use the crust. Ruined my Christmas dessert. Don't use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States