Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and the crust came out beautifully. It is a bit sticky when it comes out of the fridge, just flour your surface liberally. Very flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The crust was really good tasting. Unlike other crusts, it wasn't so dry that you had to use a bunch of techqniques to get it in a pan... I simply picked it up and dropped it in. I'd definetly recommend this to anyone for any pie. It isn't too sweet or salty. It is perfect and if I were you, I'd use it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ake-2-bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is a great pie crust recipe, that being said i dont agree with the 1/2 cup of water called for in this recipe i used probably a 1/4 of a cup water maybe a little more and made sure it was cold. I also dont blend the flour salt and shortening until smooth it should still have a semi dry texture when the water is added. Refrigerated , rolled between sheets of parchment paper and then refrigerated again. This gave me a super flaky pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiansmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It was runny and greasy - I had to add an extra 1 1/2 cups flour and I only used 1/4 cup water. In the end it couldn't be rolled and had to be pressed into the pie plate like a child would do. I will continue to use my mother's old recipe - I just thought I would try something quick since I was already using a recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made this crust yesterday for apple pie and it is fabulous. I don't think you can screw it up..perfect, I made mine with half butter and half shortening the crust is very flakey it is definately the star attraction of the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I don't really like this recipe... 1 C of shortening is a ridiculous amount.. I ended up just doing 1/2 c unsalted butter and 1/4 c shortening. It was so sticky even still. Had to only do about 1/8-1/4 c water.. Any more and it would have been soupy. Had to add more flour then.. Didn't bake it yet, but will update if necessary.. It's mediocre...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made the mistake of using salted butter the first time I made this because I didn't have time to make a run to the grocery store. As a result, the crust was a little too salty for my taste but perfect in texture all the same. I used butter instead of shortening which works quite well. Cutting the butter into small cubes and popping it in the freezer for a few minutes really helps if you don't have a pastry cutter (I used two knives instead to cut the fat into the flour mixture). Two things you must make sure of when making this crust if you use butter: that everything stays cold (even the water I used had ice chips in it) and that you do not overwork the dough. Both these tips ensure the flaky texture one loves so much about pie is the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Way to much fat. This recipe made me feel hesitant in the first place, I should have just tried to remember my old pie crust recipe. Thoguh thats what I get for doubting myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great Pie crust. Not greasy at all. Baked before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've never been a good pie crust maker, but this one is easy and turns out perfect every time. UNLESS you, like me, decide to be lazy one day and make it with a stand mixer. Then it turns out greasy and with a horrible flavor. I think maybe that's what happened with the few low ratings this recipe has received. But I've made this recipe many, many times by hand mixing it and it's always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anantadharma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States