Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
chilled everything as instructed. mushy, unworkable dough. Too much shortening...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. If you want to give it a try (and I wish I hadn't), here are some suggestions: First, decrease the salt by half or more. It is virtually inedible as is! Second, do not use the liquid called for...only a few tablespoons are needed to make a (greasy) ball of dough that holds together. Third, if you refrigerate (and you should) then shape it into a disc, not a ball, or it will crack so badly when you roll it out, that it will take alot of time to patch. (It is easy to patch). This dough is not easy to work; it tears and crumbles easily. Sadly, it is actually worse to bake with than to roll. For pre-baked crusts, it is not sturdy enough to keep it's shape as it bakes and will slump back into the pie plate, like a pair of old socks that have lost their elastic. Even browned, the crust retains this odd, soft texture and though flaky, it has an unpleasant "raw" feeling in your mouth. If used as a crust for a baking pie, the rim will have the same soft, slouchy character and the bottom and sides will not set well enough to hold together when you serve the pie. Also, forget crimping or twisting or any other decorative touches to your edges, as they will disappear as the heat breaks the dough down into a near liquid mass as it cooks. I bake several pies a week and like to try new pastry recipes from time to time and I was looking forward to making "the best pie crust ever". The search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterdaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed advice of other reviewers to make sure "everything" is chilled first & substituted shortening for butter which I cut up and put into freezer. Dough was easy to make and very tastey & flakey when used for my beef pot pie that I baked tonight. fyi: i also followed reviewer's advice to roll out dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap.. this worked perfectly! -thank you! **** UPDATE: just made this again, and did not chill anything. However, here are the changes I made: sifted the flour & used only 3/4 cup shortening; after 4 hrs dough rolled out perfectly w/o use of plastic wrap. I posted a photo this time. (after cooking the crust was perfectly flaky, not greasy at all). Thanks again for this recipe Jean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Thank you Jean! This is an awesome recipe! I compbined your Pie Crust with APPLE PIE by Grandma Ople and it was outstanding! I did make a few minor changes to the receipe...I put the shortening in the freezer for 1 hour then cut it in cubes then cut it in to the flour with a pastry cutter. I also found that when i refrigerated the dough it was not as good as when I used it immediately...I have used your recipe about 6 times now. One last thing...I beat a whole egg and brush it on the crust for a picture perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
One of my favs. Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wonderfully Easy! I make it often! Great basic crust. I no longer cook w/ added salt and I do not add it to this recipe, and it still turns out WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The flavor of this pie crust was admittedly good. However, it is really hard to work with. Having tried a lot of different crusts, I can honestly say that this was the worst I've made. It had way too much shortening and it didn't hold up at all. Even after I refrigerated it, it was greasy and difficult to work with. If I attempt it again, I'll make sure I open all the kitchen widows and start with chilled shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love the recipe so much!!! The top crust is the best!!! yummm :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I almost didn't try this recipe because of the last review written. I am glad I did. My pie was a hit and the crust turned out phenomenal. I strongly suggest you try this recipe and use the plastic wrap as suggested in one of the reviews to role out the crust and transfer to pie dish. I didn't make any alterations or changes to the recipe; I used the recipe as it is listed in this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Excellent! Make sure everything is cold including water and let it chill. Don't handle too much. I used this for making mince tarts and they came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States