Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Way to much fat. This recipe made me feel hesitant in the first place, I should have just tried to remember my old pie crust recipe. Thoguh thats what I get for doubting myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great Pie crust. Not greasy at all. Baked before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've never been a good pie crust maker, but this one is easy and turns out perfect every time. UNLESS you, like me, decide to be lazy one day and make it with a stand mixer. Then it turns out greasy and with a horrible flavor. I think maybe that's what happened with the few low ratings this recipe has received. But I've made this recipe many, many times by hand mixing it and it's always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anantadharma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I don't even know what to say about this recipe. The reviews are so conflicting, I wanted to believe that it was 4 1/2 stars, but like the first commenter, its just horrible. I couldn't even roll it out. I'm an accomplished baker (not too many pies though), i've never had this much of a problem with a crust before. I followed the directions to a T! I wonder if it has anything to do with humidity? I just can't figure out how anyone could get this recipe to work, it was just a wet mess for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I have not tried this recipe but it is almost exactly like the one I do use. The big thing I noticed is the shortening. Lard is by far the best and I always substitute some of that for butter, gives a richer flakier crust. Also ice water is important, and use surgical gloves when I handle pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was a successful and very flaky pie crust. It is however a little hard to roll out and place in your pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smamo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good. Nice and flaky pie crust that can be used for basically any pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavenlyflower78
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a GO TO pie crust! Excellent and flaky as promised...I read previous reviews and made some modifications too! Used Crisco flavored butter about 3/4 c, 1/2 tsp salt and 6tbs of ice cold water (added in 2tbs increments) Refrigerated for 1/2 an hour and it was ready to use! I rolled it out in between 2 sheets of waxed paper which made it so easy to handle and actually used powdered sugar to roll it out since I was making a black berry pie. Like I said my go to crust from now on! Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I have used a recipe close to this for years. 2 C flour, 2/3 C shortening. 1/2 or 3/4 tsp. salt and 4 to 6 T. cold water. I cut ingredients for health reasons and this still works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is almost identical to the ONLY pie crust recipe i'll use. I HIGHLY SUGGEST using ICE WATER and COLD SHORTENING for this however. I keep my shortening in the fridge. Also add the water by tablespoons or you may end up with a dough that's too wet. VERY AWESOME PIE CRUST! I use slightly less shortening for my crust though. Delicate but VERY LIGHT AND FLAKEY! I also suggest rolling out the dough onto wax paper for easy transferring =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States