Best Ever Party Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Since my grocery store sells goat cheese crumbles in 4 oz. packages (and it's not cheap), I bought two and just made 2/3 of the recipe. It was still more than enough. I also used sun-dried tomato pesto in place of the sun-dried tomatoes and olive oil. I'm sure the fresh herbs would have been excellent, but I used about 2 tsp. dried basil and 1 tsp. dried rosemary since I had it on hand. I didn't think the garlic flavor really came through and will probably add a little minced garlic to the recipe next time rather than halving the cloves and removing before serving. Nonetheless, my guests all seemed to like the appetizer, and it's a nice treat if you want to splurge on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Recipe was very good. The portion size is huge b/c guests can only put a small amount on each bread. The longer it sits in the refrigerator the better it gets. I found it better to mix the ingrediant over slicing the cheese. A few people told me it was good but too hard to get on the cracker when the cheese was sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Made this baby for a party. Followed the instructions precisely, and it was the only appetizer that was completely consumed. Only six people were here, and it was gone fast. Despite what others have said, I didn't find it too strong at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is something that I hope I have leftovers of so I can enjoy days after the party. I mixed all ingredients in a covered container (which I tossed in refrig to marinate) and re-arranged on platter to serve. Could also serve with pita triangles. A bit different to my friends, so I loved haved something new. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I have made this about 5 times now and been asked for the recipe each time. I actually mix the goat cheese with the ingredients so it has more of a spread consistancy. Instead of using sun dried tomatoes I use the sun dried tomato pesto from Trader Joe's. Serve this with sliced baguette and a big glass of red wine...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Made it for Thanksgiving, everyone loved it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Busch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Delicious and stylish! Was a hit at my party. And it's so easy to make... Get the best goat cheese available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
These were great. A little tedious to make, but well worth it. My son says there the best he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This is the most delicious cheese spread I've ever tasted! I served it at a party last night and it was a hit! Instead of putting the garlic cloves in, and taking them out again, I pressed two cloves and blended it with the goat cheese to which I'd added 4 oz. cream cheese to make it more spreadable, then spread it on the platter. I blanched the tomatoes for 3-4 minutes and skipped the olives. Fresh herbs are a must-amazing! I'll make this a zillion times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I recently took this to a wine + app party and it was a big hit! Be prepared for some very strong flavors- to make it more tolerable, spread the goat cheese out among many thin slices of french bread. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States