Best Ever Party Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was good. I have to agree with another rating about using it as a spread. It was very difficult to handle and may have been easier as a spread. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Great and easy to prepare. Being concerned about the softness of goat cheese but loving it's flavor I substituted a Dutch white goat gouda cheese. It's firm but not dry. It was a good choice, kept the flavor but made the cheese much easier to handle. I also reduced the size of the cubes, to make it easier to spoon the cheese and bits of the marinade onto a bread slice and get into your mouth. Finally the recipe is not clear as to the nature of the black olives used. I used Kalamata olives and they tasted great. Lastly, I put the whole mixture into a gallon zip lock bag to marinate just reaching into the refrigerator every couple of hours to mix it around for better coverage. Then at serving time I just poured the whole lot into the serving dish, picked out the garlic picks and it was ready to go. Couldn't be easier and really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We tried this two ways. One with goat cheese and one with mozzerella. Both were good, but goat cheese is worth the extra money if you only have a small crowd to feed. We served it with pita chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I made this initially for a dinner party. Taste-wise, this was killer and there was none left. I got asked many times for the recipe. However, it was hard cutting goat cheese into cubes because the stuff is WAY too squooshy. What I did instead was take 1/2-teaspoons and roll them into balls, then toothpicked a slice of raw garlic to each one, and poured the marinade over top. Made it easier for people to get out of the pan. My Oscar night variation was to combine the goat cheese, sun-dried tomoato, oil and spices in a food processor, fill phyllo-dough shells with the mixture, and garnish each one with an olive slice and a slice of raw garlic. Tasted the same, and the phyllo crust gave it just enough crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is an excellent recipe except for putting it on bread. That part was a little difficult for everyone, but we all enjoyed the taste. I may try mixing the goat cheese with a little cream cheese to make it more "spreadable" for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Awsome appetizer. Everyone who tastes it want my recipe to make it themselves. You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Wow! I served this at a house party and was surprised to see only a few guests go near it. Too strong? Too adventurous? Well, my husband did complain about my breath for the next 24 hours. I think it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made this for a new years eve party; it was the hit of the party. In fact, my wife and I didn't eat any of it in order to save it for the guests. Of course, we made a second batch the following weekend which we completely finished! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this for a Christmas party. It wasn't bad. Everyone seemed to enjoyed it. I did not have time to marinate it like I wanted to but still came out fine. Also, I used crumbled goat and just mixed everything togethter. Probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
my Goat cheese was purchased in a tube. So I sliced cheese about 1/3 of an inch thick. I put my garlic thru my press and put a little on each one. Then put the rest on top. Wow I had to make copys of this one for one and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States