Best Ever Party Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was my first experience with goat cheese, but I had all the other ingredients on hand, so I gave this recipe a try. The cheese was pretty crumbly to cut with a knife - perhaps I should have one of those cheese-slicing tools, and/or let the cheese soften a little at room temperature. Plus it came in a cylinder instead of a brick, so I couldn't get the desired uniform "one inch pieces". The sun-dried tomatoes came flavored with various herbs, so that boded well for a great-tasting dish. The garlic gloves should be small ones, I think - even halves of bigger cloves split the cheese pieces in my case; again, maybe the cheese should have been slightly softened. Therefore, I didn't bother leaving the toothpicks in. I did, however, serve it on thin slices of French bread, as suggested. In summary, this is not technically easy for a beginner to do, I don't think. It turned out a bit messy for me, but the combination of tastes here was very good. Thanks for a nice introduction to goat cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I only had flavored floss, so I used thread to cut the cheese....very smooth slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was delicious and a hit at our party. I took a previous reviewer's suggestion and marinated it in a zip lock bag, then just emptied it onto a platter when I was ready to serve it. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was WONDERFUL. It was a great hit at the wine and appetizer party I brought it to, and a lot of people asked me for the recipe. I only needed about 2.5 baguettes, sliced about 1" thick, to go with this topping. I also cut the cheese with dental floss as per a previous suggestion, which worked well. I also gently tossed everything together so that the flavors could mix better in the casserole dish I used to serve it. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is one of my favorite appetizers. I serve it with baguette slices that have been brushed with seasoned olive oil and broiled until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I really enjoyed this appetizer. I figured out what cheese is used in the photo.It's not the soft goat cheese but semi soft goat cheese. It is a little harder to find but is worth it because it doesn't crumble.I found this at Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe. I served it as an appetizer for a wine tasting party, and everyone agreed that it was simply fantastic. Everyone wanted the recipe. I made the recipe as is, but I did slice the cheese with dental floss. However, in the end, it didn't really matter, as the cheese did not retain it's shape. I did as another suggested and just put everything together in a plastic ziploc bag and "squished" it all together and put it into the refrigerator overnight. I then just inverted the bag to release the spread into a pretty bowl. I served it as a spread, along with a sliced baguette. It was devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. Slicing the cheese with dental floss did make it easier. I put it out with a knife and people smeared it on the bread like a spread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This didn't work for me. I was scared of the goat cheese and used havarti. This was the first time I used sun dried tomatoes- (I re-constituted them in warm water; maybe they should have been left dried) and they really overpowered the marinade. It gave it a really sweet flavor, which isn't what I expected from the reveiws. I thought it would be really sassy- maybe more of a strong garlic and herb flavor but it turned out sweet. My husband liked it though. I may try this again, with the crubled goat cheese food proccesor style, with the cream cheese and DRIED tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is divine! to avoid having trouble slicing the soft goat cheese - here's a trick: Use Dental Floss. Set the cheese on a cutting board and slice through the cheese with a piece of floss. This will create a smooth cut and not put so much pressure on the cheese to make it crumble. Sometimes it's easier to find goat cheese labeled as Montrachet Cheese (and under that you'll find a description of Goat Cheese). This tends to be a slightly firmer type of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States