Best Ever Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I think the taste of the batter was very good. If you hold the onion in the grease for a second when you put them in they won't go to the bottom, I used tongues for that. I also like the little crispy pieces that were left behind in the pan as I fried them, they were great on the burgers we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'm not really a fried-food fan (and making it at home kind of scares me a little), but I was craving onion rings and decided to give this a try. My whole family loved it! One important note - you MUST dredge the onions in flour before putting them in the batter. Otherwise the batter will just fall off when it hits the hot oil. Also, I halved the batter recipe and it was just enough for one onion. I loved the puffiness of it, but if you don't like that you could omit the baking soda. I sprinkled with some salt when they came out of the fryer. Delicious! I'll use this batter for other things, like mushrooms or zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbrowneyes64
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I love these! I omitted the salt and used a table blend of spices, dipped in flour, batter and then flour again! Deep fried until golden and served with special sauce: mayo, ketchup and horseradish with a dash of cayenne! Delicious! Def. will make again!! Easy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I never rate stuff but this recipe was delicious!! Added a little paprika and they are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good!! Dipped them in flour first, like someone suggested, then in the batter. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Tried this for the first time -- and I have many many an onion ring in 45 yrs of marriage and I thought it was great! I thinned the batter just a bit with a little more milk. Had no problem with them being "donuts" or batter not sticking. Tasted great and will use this again and again! Thanks Angel for a gr8 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I would like to hug whoever MIDNIGHT_ANGEL is! These onion rings were exactly what I was craving. There was only one thing I did differently. I didn't have any onion salt on hand, so I used garlic salt instead. Talk about accidental genius! I will make this again and again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Tried them. Thought they were very good. Husband Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna Whitehurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Ok we love the flavor and tried it twice because of that.The problem I have is it just won't stick to the onions.Any ideas how to make work this better because it is simple and has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used the recipe to make onion strings. I cut the onion into thin rings then halved them. Then dredged them in flour and into the batter. Turned out great! Add some chili powder or ceyenne pepper to the batter for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macattack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States