Best Ever New Zealand Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
this is my first time leaving a review. i have been making pavlovas for years. i learned how from my sister in law who is from new zealand. this is the first time i make a pavlova that i could not serve. i followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out too soft. i then compared it too other recipes, and i believe the oven temperature to be too low. there was no crunchy outer shell. anyhow, i will try again with another recipe, bake at 350 and follow up with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Here are a few more tips for making the perfect pavlova, my husband is a kiwi and have made this more times than I want to admit. First beat, beat , beat the eggs. Use "super fine" sugar not regular granulated. It helps it keep its height. Use white vinegar if you want a pure white pav. Using malt or balsamic will give you a off white color. Take a 8" round cake pan and draw a circle with it on the parchment paper. Pile the filling within the circle. Take a large spatula and smooth sides and flatten top. Make this at night and leave to cool in oven overnight. One last thing, I double the recipe for an 8" pav. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I thought it was super yummy, but I"m on try #2 and I'm STILL not getting the stiff egg whites that I want (and yes I"m using a hand held electric mixer). Not sure what I'm doing wrong but it's driving me nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I am originally from New Zealand and had been looking for a recipe for the pavlova that I remember having every Christmas in New Zealand and this is the one! Though I use malt vinegar, I found some London Pub Malt Vinegar at the store and it is just like I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwirn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. It comes together easily and the consistency, both before and after cooking is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolishK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time baking and trying Pavlova! I recommend trying this recipe as it worked out extremely well for me. I followed others suggestions to pile the outside walls of the cake high before baking as it tends to spread out a little while in the oven. If you can't handle the sweetness, top it with raspberries as they will help balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very easy to make. Used the recipe to make small merengues for Christmas. Taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wormerveer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yummy! I do have to say that I tried 2 different recipes on the same evening to make a double batch and to compare, and I liked the other recipe better. This one is a bit too complicated (the other is SO simple: just 4 egg whites, 1/8 tsp cream of tartar and 1 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla, baked at 225F for 1 or 1.5 hr.)... Anyway, this one didn't fluff up as much (I think its the 2 tbsp water that made it not stiffen as much). Also, it cracked quite a bit. The other one that I just mentioned was smooth and held its shape very nicely. Either way, you can't go wrong with this pavlova... very deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is recipie was awesome. So glad some one put in a new zealand recipie for the pav, its sooo good. But i wish people would also call it kiwifruit, rather that Kiwi, cos a kiwi is a bird lol. But anyway this recipe was awesome, def do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Way, Way, WAY too sweet! I was very disapointed. ` Cut the sugar in half, at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States