Best Ever Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I wasn't impressed with this recipe, to me they weren't sweet enough. I wanted a plain muffin to make strawberry short cakes with. It might be better with fruit added. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I'm giving this 3 out of 5 stars because the baking time seemed way too long. I only cooked these for 20 minutes and they were still too dark. I should have started checking them at the 15 minute mark. Other than that the flavor was good. I usually make a muffin recipe that calls for buttermilk but I don't like having to buy a special ingredient just for muffins so thought I would give this one a try. I made 1/2 of the batch plain, then topped with melted butter, cinnamon and sugar. The other 1/2 I added chocolate chips to the batter. I will make again but adjust the time and/or temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Such a GREAT "last-minute" recipe! I added 1 apple shredded, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon and a good pinch of brown sugar. I also topped them with melted butter, old fashioned oats and brown sugar mixed together. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have been baking for over 25 years and tried at least 30 muffin receipes. This recipe is the best base recipe I have ever used. The only thing I changed was adding one teaspoon of vanilla and the trick one of the other reviewers had of preheating the oven to 425 and then as soon as you put the muffins in reducing to 400. I only need to bake mine for about 18 mins and they were tender and popped out of the pan just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipe is AWESOME! Simple and easy! I used it to make mini chocolate chip muffins for my kids. They LOVED them! So I have made them several times. I even tried it with bananas and walnuts. GOODBYE to prepackaged mini muffins and muffin mix!! This is WAY more ECONOMICAL! If you do mini muffins, bake for 10 minutes. I also tried it with substituting stevia for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Ah, my new muffin recipe for new creations...thanks!!! Today, first time to try this recipe, I made coconut chocolate chip. I followed recipe with a minor change. 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup sour cream. For add ins: 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 cup coconut, and 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips. Then sprinkled on top a few chips and some coconut which toasted giving great appearance and taste...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I tried this recipe out for a large buffet I had an order for, and needed an easy recipe that I can adapt to whatever fruits I had on hand to save me time. First batch I added chocolate chips and the second I added blueberries. I have been baking for years and have been in the catering business as well... The oil that the recipe calls for makes the muffins rubbery and dry. The recipe also lacks in the flavor department. The tastes were very bland and way too sweet. I think they should give this recipe an overhaul and re-rate it. I would definitely use fresh buttermilk in place of regular milk and add about 2 sticks of butter. I would also decrease the sugar amount and perhaps add a bit of brown sugar for moistness. The original recipe is tasteless and by adding oil it gives it a fishy smell. The best baked goods start with butter, milk, and flour with some sugar... Not good with oil. Also, if making blueberry muffins you need to add sour cream and a little bit of lemon zest. Makes them way more tasty. Am I the only one with this not so grand turn out? I hope my suggestions help others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Fantastic muffin recipe that acts as the perfect base for all sorts of flavor combinations. I made a double batch (which made ten massive, over-sized muffins). I divided the batter and added strawberry and rhubarb chunks to one third, sharp cheddar and apple sauce to another, and blueberries, almonds and cinnamon to the third. Cooking time definitely varies depending on how much stuff you've added (denser batter). Keep a close eye on these muffins and you'll be totally rewarded! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Love this! I use it at least once or twice a week. I make minis for my toddler because she can handle them herself. We have tried all kinds of add ins and substitutions. My fave so far is the brown sugar almond made yesterday. I substituted brown sugar for half of the sugar in the recipe and added a cup of crushed almonds. Then, it was topped with brown sugar topping. Not very healthy, but so good! Another add in we enjoy is whole grain oats! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feathers Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I did exactly like the recipe calls for and added raisins to it and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I baked them at 400 for 20 minutes and they turned out rubbery and chewy instead of soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States