Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This meatloaf needs more seasonings for us. Think brown gravy is best starting with a roux instead of using cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Made this last night for hubby and me. We both thought it was one of the most tasty meatloaf recipes we'd ever tried, but I have to agree with other posters that the gravy doesn't really seem to go with the flavour of the meat. That's OK though, that just meant there was more for the roasted garlic mashed potatoes we had with it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Not the best meatloaf for our family. Maybe it depends on the type of chili sauce you use.It didn't go over well with my family of 7 and they aren't picky eaters. Sorry, I'll have to give this one a 2 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent! My very finicky husband and daughter LOVED it. I substituted seasoning salt for table salt, and since we "don't do spicy", I used worchesteshire sauce instead of chili sauce. This was the perfect quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Not my favorite meatloaf, but my husband did really enjoy the gravy! I found it a bit bland and seemed to be missing something. I will probably try it again but will add some spice and herb variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Thank you for sharing. This recipe has been added to my notebook. The gravy is good on mashed potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was excellent. I had my parents over for dinner tonight and everyone enjoyed it very much. It is a nice, simple, good recipe. I didn't have chili sauce so I used ketsup mixed with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is the best meatloaf I've ever had. So delicious. My husband hates the crusy ketchup of most meatloafs but we loved this. I didn't use a 1/2 c. of chili sauce. Instead I just used a dash or two of tabasco. It was very moist and so good. I doubled the gravy to have pleanty for mashed potatos. It was a nice, hot, hardy meal for a cold, wet day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Pretty good.... flet like it was missing something after my first go at it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Good basic meatloaf. My husband and I prefer the tomato sauce topping rather than the brown gravy, but it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States