Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
gravy is exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlnamedbo
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. It is tough to get good gravy out of a meatloaf, and this was acceptable. I would make one note to others...the type of Chili sauce called for here is usually not too hot. Do not use "Asian" Chili sauce, that IS HOT!! The commercial brands, are not hot at all. My Grandma's recipe is more like a slightly chunky, sweet/hot homemade tomato catsup. It has things like cinnamon and cloves in it as well as some heat. So just make sure you are not missing out on a good recipe because of an incorrect ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This gravy is the best. It is so good I can eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was great! I tweeked it a little becuase I couldn't find chili sauce so I just added a packet of meatloaf seasoning. And I had a little trouble making the gravy. I poured all of the mixture into the broth at once and it turned into a big chunck of stuff. It took me a while to stir it apart.. I would recomend slowly adding the cornstarch mixture to the broth. Otherwise everything else tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Oh and I left out the chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Another good meatloaf recipe. I added some worcestershire for extra flavor and topped the loaf with bacon. If it wouldn't have been for the gravy, I would have wanted some type of topping for the meatloaf because it would have needed the extra kick. However gravy did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Made with gluten free bread crumbs because my husband has Celiac Disease and he said this was some of the best meatloaf he has EVER had. Very good tasting. Gravy was great too. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I made this recipe without the brown gravy... DAD LOVED IT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was wonderful!!!! my husband had thirds. I did add a little garlic and mushrooms to the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This meatloaf needs more seasonings for us. Think brown gravy is best starting with a roux instead of using cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States