Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I read a review on here that said the meat loaf was plain, so based on that I added some dried parsley and onion & garlic powder. I also had a 2lb package of lean beef, so I just used that. I thought it would go quicker if I cooked patties on my stove. They tasted amazing and the family kept trying to grab them! But, it was a little time consuming, so I think I might try the oven method as directed. I did think that the gravy was quite salty though. So, I added the same seasonings and adjusted the water, but still wasn't to my liking. So, next time I think I will make my own gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This recipe worked out great. Very easy. I doubled the gravy recipe, and I'm glad I did. It sounds silly, but this was the first time I've made gravy with corn starch rather than flour. That's the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Surprisingly good! I did put garlic in the gravy as others suggested as well as a little cayenne for extra bite. All in all a country style wholesome supper which was especially good with garlic/sourcream mashed potatoes! Loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I had some problems with this one. First the loaf. Mine did not bind for some reason. While mixing it I thought it would be very moist with the addition of the chili sauce. After it cooked it just didn't bind together. I have never had that happen with a meat loaf. The gravy was incredibly bland. I use very good organic stock and often have this problem with recipes because they are not full of sodium. I added both salt and pepper to the gravy. The gravy was easy to make. I would make the gravy again for sure, but I think I'll stick to my old meat loaf recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this until the first bite. Then I ate half the pan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a very tasty meatloaf and gravy. Next time I will add a little garlic to the meat mixture and the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We love this meatloaf. Juicy and flavorful, it has become part of my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilove2jog
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Nice recipe. Gravy was awesome!!! Simple to make & tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
As another had done, I only made the gravy this time, but I wanted to give credit where credit is due. I have never had much luck with gravy in the past, but this was easy and fool-proof with a fabulous taste. Even my 10-year old, who complains any time she spots mushrooms, loved it and couldn't get enough. Thank you for the opportunity to make this wonderful gravy. I look forward to trying the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My husband loved this and he doesn't like meatloaf. I like meatloaf, and I thought this was okay. I thought the chili sauce made it a little sweet for me. The gravy was very tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States