Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
best recipe ever! i used garlic bread for the bread crumbs, and threw in a squeeze of dijon mustard. also an onion. i followed the gravy recipe as written below. made mashed potatoes and corn to go with. amazing comfort food - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This Meatloaf was one of the best I've ever had. I used 1 pound of ground beef and a 1/2 pound of ground pork, added a little garlic powder and some minced onion. It was so moist and flavorful that the gravy was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Awesome gravy which I have never been very good add. Thanks for the recipe. I'll try your meatloaf next time. I served your gravy with chopped steak this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIRDLADY51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I read a review on here that said the meat loaf was plain, so based on that I added some dried parsley and onion & garlic powder. I also had a 2lb package of lean beef, so I just used that. I thought it would go quicker if I cooked patties on my stove. They tasted amazing and the family kept trying to grab them! But, it was a little time consuming, so I think I might try the oven method as directed. I did think that the gravy was quite salty though. So, I added the same seasonings and adjusted the water, but still wasn't to my liking. So, next time I think I will make my own gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This recipe worked out great. Very easy. I doubled the gravy recipe, and I'm glad I did. It sounds silly, but this was the first time I've made gravy with corn starch rather than flour. That's the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Surprisingly good! I did put garlic in the gravy as others suggested as well as a little cayenne for extra bite. All in all a country style wholesome supper which was especially good with garlic/sourcream mashed potatoes! Loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I had some problems with this one. First the loaf. Mine did not bind for some reason. While mixing it I thought it would be very moist with the addition of the chili sauce. After it cooked it just didn't bind together. I have never had that happen with a meat loaf. The gravy was incredibly bland. I use very good organic stock and often have this problem with recipes because they are not full of sodium. I added both salt and pepper to the gravy. The gravy was easy to make. I would make the gravy again for sure, but I think I'll stick to my old meat loaf recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this until the first bite. Then I ate half the pan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a very tasty meatloaf and gravy. Next time I will add a little garlic to the meat mixture and the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We love this meatloaf. Juicy and flavorful, it has become part of my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States