Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is absolutely great. Very moist, excellent flavor, held together perfectly. This is the first meatloaf my family did Not pour ketchup over--the flavor was great just as it is. This will be the only meatloaf recipe we use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I guess my rating is unfair because I altered the recipe...I didn't realize that I was out of chili sauce. I did substitute chili sauce for BBQ sauce as that is all I had (never thought about putting BBQ sauce in my meatloaf). The meatloaf was quite delicious. Although the gravy really didn't go with it. I prefer my own gravy, regardless. I served the meatloaf with cheesy scalloped potatoes and fresh green beans. Went well together. And I look forward to trying your version next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This may sound corny, but ever since hubby and I got married, every Valentines Day (or thereabouts), I make a heart shaped meatloaf. To add to my cornball personality, I "write" "I love you" with onions. Our girls obviously grew up with this tradition and believe it or not, look forward to this every year. I normally use only turkey meat to make my loafs, however, my older daughter has decided that she prefers her meatloaf made with beef. (I used half of each) Anyway, I didn't have any chili sauce in the house, so I can't comment on that issue. Once the meatloat was assembled, I poured about a half of a can of the beef broth over it. To make the gravy, I made a roux, (no cornstarch) using some of the fat from the drippings and then added more broth. Drew, Tyler and I really enjoyed this, however, poor Ash came down with a tummy virus this afternoon. Holly, I'm sure she'll love the leftovers when she's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is the best Meatloaf I've ever made. My kids hated the idea of eating it, but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I really thought the gravy sauce was good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
We loved it! We found the gravy was a liitle bland, we'll probaly add a little beef bouillon and garlic next time. Otherwise it was great, very easy! We'll definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Did not like the chili sauce. The mushroom sauce seemed to not compliment the meat. The ease in preparing and cooking was great. I did add onion and would prefer more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I add canned mushrooms, fresh when I have time. Adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annelisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Very good. Takes a little while to make + prepare. For kids, make without the mushrooms. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I am not a mushroom eater so I substituted the onions for the mushrooms and added some garlic. Excellent! Very moist and tasty:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGGIEMICHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States