Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
i liked it, this was the first time i have EVER made my own gravy from scratch. Like all the other times i have made meat loaf though this tasted like salsbury steak, very good. I just have some personal issue with meat loaf i think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Sorry to disagree. The meatloaf was rather bland and of the ho-hum variety. As for the gravy, I don't know what all the raving is about--zero flavor. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
meatloaf is ok but gravy is WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this is the best meatloaf ever. lol my family and i just love the gravy. it's a really nice change and i look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I've tried the recipe for gravy with beef stock and chicken stock. Oddly enough, the beef stock gravy didn't really taste that good. The chicken stock gravy had more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
gravy is exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlnamedbo
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. It is tough to get good gravy out of a meatloaf, and this was acceptable. I would make one note to others...the type of Chili sauce called for here is usually not too hot. Do not use "Asian" Chili sauce, that IS HOT!! The commercial brands, are not hot at all. My Grandma's recipe is more like a slightly chunky, sweet/hot homemade tomato catsup. It has things like cinnamon and cloves in it as well as some heat. So just make sure you are not missing out on a good recipe because of an incorrect ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This gravy is the best. It is so good I can eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was great! I tweeked it a little becuase I couldn't find chili sauce so I just added a packet of meatloaf seasoning. And I had a little trouble making the gravy. I poured all of the mixture into the broth at once and it turned into a big chunck of stuff. It took me a while to stir it apart.. I would recomend slowly adding the cornstarch mixture to the broth. Otherwise everything else tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Oh and I left out the chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States