Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
best recipe ever! i used garlic bread for the bread crumbs, and threw in a squeeze of dijon mustard. also an onion. i followed the gravy recipe as written below. made mashed potatoes and corn to go with. amazing comfort food - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This Meatloaf was one of the best I've ever had. I used 1 pound of ground beef and a 1/2 pound of ground pork, added a little garlic powder and some minced onion. It was so moist and flavorful that the gravy was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Awesome gravy which I have never been very good add. Thanks for the recipe. I'll try your meatloaf next time. I served your gravy with chopped steak this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIRDLADY51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I read a review on here that said the meat loaf was plain, so based on that I added some dried parsley and onion & garlic powder. I also had a 2lb package of lean beef, so I just used that. I thought it would go quicker if I cooked patties on my stove. They tasted amazing and the family kept trying to grab them! But, it was a little time consuming, so I think I might try the oven method as directed. I did think that the gravy was quite salty though. So, I added the same seasonings and adjusted the water, but still wasn't to my liking. So, next time I think I will make my own gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This recipe worked out great. Very easy. I doubled the gravy recipe, and I'm glad I did. It sounds silly, but this was the first time I've made gravy with corn starch rather than flour. That's the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Surprisingly good! I did put garlic in the gravy as others suggested as well as a little cayenne for extra bite. All in all a country style wholesome supper which was especially good with garlic/sourcream mashed potatoes! Loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I had some problems with this one. First the loaf. Mine did not bind for some reason. While mixing it I thought it would be very moist with the addition of the chili sauce. After it cooked it just didn't bind together. I have never had that happen with a meat loaf. The gravy was incredibly bland. I use very good organic stock and often have this problem with recipes because they are not full of sodium. I added both salt and pepper to the gravy. The gravy was easy to make. I would make the gravy again for sure, but I think I'll stick to my old meat loaf recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this until the first bite. Then I ate half the pan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a very tasty meatloaf and gravy. Next time I will add a little garlic to the meat mixture and the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We love this meatloaf. Juicy and flavorful, it has become part of my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States