Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Very tasty. Mine held together fine with one large egg. Make sure you cool a few minutes before trying to slice it. The gravy tasted very mushroomy, which was good on the mashed potatoes, but didn't complement the meatloaf that well. My boyfriend went back for thirds. He said it was the best he'd ever had. I used Heinz's chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
The meatloaf itself was good, however an extra egg might have helped it hold together better. The gravy, however, wouldn't have had any flavor if it weren't for the mushrooms and onions. I probably will make it again, but I think I will mix a package of beef gravy mix into the beef broth and then add it to the mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is absolutely great. Very moist, excellent flavor, held together perfectly. This is the first meatloaf my family did Not pour ketchup over--the flavor was great just as it is. This will be the only meatloaf recipe we use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I guess my rating is unfair because I altered the recipe...I didn't realize that I was out of chili sauce. I did substitute chili sauce for BBQ sauce as that is all I had (never thought about putting BBQ sauce in my meatloaf). The meatloaf was quite delicious. Although the gravy really didn't go with it. I prefer my own gravy, regardless. I served the meatloaf with cheesy scalloped potatoes and fresh green beans. Went well together. And I look forward to trying your version next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This may sound corny, but ever since hubby and I got married, every Valentines Day (or thereabouts), I make a heart shaped meatloaf. To add to my cornball personality, I "write" "I love you" with onions. Our girls obviously grew up with this tradition and believe it or not, look forward to this every year. I normally use only turkey meat to make my loafs, however, my older daughter has decided that she prefers her meatloaf made with beef. (I used half of each) Anyway, I didn't have any chili sauce in the house, so I can't comment on that issue. Once the meatloat was assembled, I poured about a half of a can of the beef broth over it. To make the gravy, I made a roux, (no cornstarch) using some of the fat from the drippings and then added more broth. Drew, Tyler and I really enjoyed this, however, poor Ash came down with a tummy virus this afternoon. Holly, I'm sure she'll love the leftovers when she's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is the best Meatloaf I've ever made. My kids hated the idea of eating it, but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I really thought the gravy sauce was good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
We loved it! We found the gravy was a liitle bland, we'll probaly add a little beef bouillon and garlic next time. Otherwise it was great, very easy! We'll definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Did not like the chili sauce. The mushroom sauce seemed to not compliment the meat. The ease in preparing and cooking was great. I did add onion and would prefer more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I add canned mushrooms, fresh when I have time. Adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States