Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Loved it! I did make one minor change and used tomato sauce in place of the chili sauce. I needed to add 15 minutes to the cooking time but otherwise it was perfect. The gravy was so simple but amazing...if you like gravy you will want to double or triple that recipe as we did not have enough. It thickens quickly so kept an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times and it comes out great every time. I made one adjustment by adding minced garlic to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this one, and yes, the gravy is quite good. I will be making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Fantastic! A few alterations. I added 2 eggs instead of 1 it binded much better and based on other reviews added some granulated garlic. Def double the gravy recipe added minced garlic and used fresh onions. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Used oatmeal,ketchup,two eggs,more seasonings, more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA COYLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great taste with little effort. Instead of making meatloaf I fried up all ingredients except chili sauce & bread crumbs, used beef bouillion and served over mashed potatoes. A tad bit different than recipe, but very tasty nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
We liked it. I used 2 eggs per other's reviews and I used Italian bread crumbs because that's what I had on hand. It was quite spicy as I used hot chili sauce. I made an additional brown gravy packet and added it to this gravy as I wanted plenty and I read other reviews stating that's what they did. Loved it! The meatloaf was a piece of cake to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This meatloaf was just okay. It didn't really have a lot of flavor. There are better meatloaf recipes out there, so I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I used my own meatloaf recipe, so this review is for the gravy only. I tripled the recipe so there would be plenty for both the meatloaf & mashed potatoes. I used baby portabella mushrooms. It was delicious & very easy to make. This gravy recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used the recipe as a base as I have never liked meatloaf but I tricked it out. I cooked a can of mixed veggies in olive oil, teased with basil, oregano and garlic. While vegetables were firm, I bored a hole in the top of the raw meatloaf, layered it lightly with seasoned breadcrumbs, sifted a tablespoon of rosemary, spooned in veggies, then topped with beef, sealed off perfectly, sprinkled the top with a little bit more rosemary. Every 20 minutes, basted lightly with gravy. When 20 minutes were left on ticker, put remaining veggies in pan. When 5 min left, removed veggies and all drippings, place in remaining gravy in pot, heated and added cornstarch and splash of red cooking wine. A few more things done that made this a winner, but this recipe is a good springboard to perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice GrillMaster Burt
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States