Best Ever Meatloaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is probably my favorite meatloaf recipe. We are not a big "taco" family, so I substituted Mushroom Gravy mix for the Taco Seasoning. Even my two year old eats a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellyblue007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it! This meatloaf has more flavor than any others I have tried. My son has an egg allergy, so I loved that it did not contain an egg. I had no problem with it falling apart (I did let it sit a short time before slicing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Christians

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
It always amazes me how many people on this site change up the recipes before trying it the original way the first time and then wonder why they don't turn out as they had hoped! As written, the recipe is very good and flavorful. However, next time I think I will add an egg or two with the hopes of binding it all together a bit more since mine pretty much fell apart when I tried to serve it, even after leaving it sit out for 10 minutes to "set". I added a couple of tablespoons of salsa to the top during the last 15 minutes of cooking, and it added a nice zip to it (it's not necessary, it's just that I grew up with my mom's meatloaf always having ketchup on the top of it, so I guess it's just something I'm prone to do with all my meatloaf recipes) I would recommend this recipe; the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it didn't hold together when I tried to cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was actually my first meatloaf and my boys loved it. I did substitute a pack of mushroom gravy mix for the taco seasoning and left out the green peppers. It was very greasy, so i have bought a draining meatloaf pan for future use. Definitely will make this again. The cheese is what makes it a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I am an Australian who has never eaten meatloaf in her life and I made this for my American husband...who gave it the thumbs up! Didn't have green peppers so I used red instead. I practically pureed the vegies before frying, heaven forbid my fussy 3 year old could see any hint of vegies in her meatloaf. My 11 month old son devoured it nicely. Tips for next time: replacing the taco mix for beef gravy packet mix worked well, needs a little salt and pepper, husband suggests coating the top surface with tomato paste/puree before baking or serving with a gravy to mop up his side of mashed taters! Will make again! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was pretty tasty. But I prefer the Italian meatloaf in W&S: Food Made Fast: Simple Suppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I was looking for something to do with a pound of hamburger and happened upon this recipe. I made it exactly as listed and got rave reviews from my family. The extra zip from the (low sodium) packet of taco seasoning was just perfect for my gang. I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made with the mushroom gravy as well and it was a huge hit. Definatley making again and will try with taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this recipe with ground turkey, left out the butter and cheese. It was ok, but I'm sure it tastes better as written. I never would have thought to use taco seasoning... so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
instead of taco mix i used meatloaf seasoning. i used purple onions and added italian seasoning as well. it was so good. very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States