Best Ever Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
5 stars with a few changes. I read a lot a reviews and then combined their ideas with one of the brown sugar meatloaf recipes. It is a total hit. My family loves it - truly best ever. and not the same old same old. I used 1 lb of beef (less), 2 eggs (more for better consistency), 1c salsa, 3/4 c oatmeal, salt, pepper, italian seasoning, and chopped onion (dehydrated or fresh), plus a SMALL handful of brown sugar. sprinkle the bottom of the pan with brown sugar, add meatloaf and sprinkle top with brown sugar. bake at 350 for 1 hr. sounds odd but it's terrific. I hope your family agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe was pretty basic but a good starting point. I added garlic to spice it up. Also if you only use the pan as a mold and actually bake it on a baking sheet it allows the meatloaf to cook in 3/4 the time. When you bake it this way you can put a sauce on the sides too for added flavor. My favorite sauce is to mix 3 parts kechup to 1 part steak sauce such as A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
I made this meatloaf for my family and they absolutley loved it! My husband said it was the best ever. For a complete meal, I recommend serving it with the Ranch Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Moist and tasty! A few easy substitutes: 1 small can tomato sauce in place of tomatoe juice. Add garlic powder or granulated garlic. Use 2 slices of crumbled bread in place of rolled oats. Make sure onions are chopped fine or they don't cook through. Top with ketchup before baking. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This recipe was great although I did make a few changes I used V-8 juice rather than tomato juice added about a tbsp of oregano 2 cloves of garlic as well I also added a couple shakes of seasoning salt. My super picky husband loved it and even said it was better than his moms and I NEVER have cooked anything better than his mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I made this meatloaf and my husband of 34 years said I finally did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is the best meatloaf I have ever made. My boyfriend hates meatloaf, but he loved this one and he wants me to make it again. I used ground turkey, 1 cup oats, Worcestershire sauce, tomato soup (I didn't have juice) and some spices (paprika, dried mustard, oregano). This was fast and easy and it's a versatile recipe that can be played with a lot. The texture of the loaf was amazing! I will never use breadcrumbs in my meatloaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Excellent, excellent, excellent! I make this at least once a week for my husband who's absolutely in love with it. I double the recipe so we can make sandwiches for the rest of the week. Nothini' like a hunk of day old meatloaf on white bread with mayo! I also use tomato sauce vs. juice and minced onion vs. fresh chopped. It is still wonderful stuff to be such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Love this. We like it using V8 in the mix, and then extra to pour on top to make a nice tangy glaze. The only meatloaf I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Very good. If you're looking for a thick, stiff meatloaf, this is not for you. I loved it because it turned out really moist. It does not, however, stay in loaf form when you cut it. I also added some parmesean cheese and garlic to the mix when I made it. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States