Best Ever Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
As like what others said, this is a good started point. I added 1 cup of Bloody Mary Mix (left over from the bloody mary chicken- which I highly recommend!!) instead of the tomato juice, a chopped onion, a big spoonful of minced garlic and about a tablespoon of tabasco sauce. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I agree with Magic8Ball that if you have to change a recipe that much, you aren't making the same recipe. However, I disagree that this is only for people who don't like a kick to their food, because I'm usually one of the first ones to say something is too bland, and I thought this was really good. While I do *prefer* a meatloaf with, say, a Mexican flair, this was one of the better "basic" meatloaves I've ever had. Herbs/spices aren't the only things that make food good, and this had something else that made it good though I don't know what. Maybe it was the oats, and I think part of the trick is to get it *just* done so that it's nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Thanks Boo! I used this years ago, and after dieting for a few years, it came up missing.. I think one similiar to it was on the old oatmeal boxes... loved it! I have been searching for this recipe, made it last nite, and we loved it! Thank you so much! The only tip I have is be sure you let it set before serving it so it will have a chance to firm up. It is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
My husband loves meatloaf and raved about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Easy to fix, basic meatloaf, but way too bland. This needs a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was a good base, I think. I added some garlic, and mustard and ketchup, and it was still a little bland. Ended up smothering in ketchup to eat. Usually I use a meatloaf seasoning packet from the store with cheese crackers. Not much flavor will have to tweak this one some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKMCNALLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe was very good. I loved it because it was tender, very tasty and held together well. I did not have rolled oats and used bread crumbs. I don't know what the difference would be since I have never used rolled oats in meatloaf before. We served ours with Rosemary Baby Red Potatoes and a Caesar Salad. Wonderful meal. Great comfort food. We only have meatloaf a few times a year, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
My family prefers a pretty "basic" meatloaf and then topped with plain brown gravy, so after reading the reviews on this one I decided to give it a try. I have to say it was a hit!! I did make a few modifications, I added some garlic, worsterchire (spelling?) sauce and used a package of onion soup mix instead of the chopped onion and salt. I saved it in my recipe box and will for sure make it again. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Like many of the reviewers said, this is a good STARTING point for a good meatloaf, but as a stand-alone recipe it would only be good to serve to people who are VERY picky eaters and don't like vegetables or any seasonings in their food. And if you have to make a huge effort to change a recipe, it becomes another entirely different recipe. I would just change the name to "basic meatloaf" to let people know how the meatloaf actually turns out, which is very plain (and unexciting to folks who like their food with a kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I put mashed potatoes all around it and I put kraft singles cheese on top!! My Sisters and Parents love it!!! My dad doesn't even like meatloaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekka C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States