Best Ever Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I just made this meatloaf and had to post a comment! I did the recipe ROBERTA used and added 2 garlic cloves. It is sooo good. Thank you for this recipe! Love the brown sugar idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanylace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
husband gave this three wows! its a great recipe to start with, it is one that my mom made all my life every monday night. I use it as a starting point and change it every monday night. What I love about this recipe is that you can use a very lean cut of meat. and it will still come out moist and tender :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, New York, USA
Living In: Constantia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I think this recipe is a great starting point. It is very flexible. I generally add garlic to spice things up a little. One good variation is to add a bit of basil, thyme, and oregano, and a small splash of red wine. Another good thing to do is to add coriander (cilantro), cumin, paprika, and a bit of chili sauce. The addition of vegetable broth instead of (or with) tomato juice can also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good! I didn't have tomato juice so I substituted ketchup. Easy to make, family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is very good. I use half ground beef and half turkey so it has good flavor with less fat. I also did not have V8 so I used ketchup combined with a LOT of tobasco and some season salt. I also used some garlic powder. It turned out very good. Next time I'll add even more spice I think. My hubby likes things spicy! This is very good and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I thought this was GREAT! I did add some herbs ~ oregano, lawry's seasoned salt, a little basil... Also had to sub tomato sauce for juice and I was happy. Oh! The best part was a single layer of bacon over the top ~ added just enough extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
As it has been said, a bit basic but a nice starting point. I added garlic, tomato paste, V8 juice, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Decided to try an easy, simple meatloaf receipe. Mistake. This was awful. Very bland, no taste. I would recommend putting some spices into this. Like one viewer said, if you see a recipe with only salt and pepper, that should be a big clue to a very, very bland meatloaf. I will NEVER make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Used Clamato juice instead of tomato juice. Mixed ketchup & brown sugar together and put on top. Will add wochestire sauce & garlic next time to add alittle more flavor. Great leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
A real good base recipe. Had to do things my own way with a few things. I loved the oats instead of bread crumbs. I used 1 pound lean ground beef & 1 pound ground pork as I always do. Spicy Tom's instead of tomato juice. A splash of worsteshire, 2 eggs, 1 tbs of minced garlic. I always grill my onions before putting in loaf so they are cooked well. A small splash of tabasco. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States