Best Ever Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
My boyfriend and I both loved this recipe! I've made it twice so far and the second time I used a blend of red wine and tomato sauce instead of tomato juice, which I would recommend. I also added a few shakes of hot sauce. The next time I make it I will probably try adding some garlic. A 1/2 cup of onion might also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Pretty good meatloaf. Has a soft texture, but the slices hold together well. I used v-8 in place of the tomato juice and added a tiny bit of chopped celery, but think the recipe does need a bit of a boost. Probably should have used a pack of onion soup mix, etc. I did need to cook mine quite a bit longer than recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I really liked this recipe. I used 1/2 lb italian sausage with 1 lb of beef. I also added some worcestershire sauce. The rest stayed the same. I loved it and it was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
A winner in our family! I forgot to get the tomato juice when shopping, so I just substituted 3/4 C ketchup and 1/4 C water. Seemed to work well! Also used egg substitute, but think the oatmeal didn't bind as well with the meat because of the "real" egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This is a good, basic, relatively low cal, family fare meatloaf, which suits my our needs. I used 90% lean beef and there was no grease to drain off at all. This meatloaf retained its shape after cutting. This recipe works well if you have a lot of different tastes in your family. I topped my serving with salsa because I like spicier food, but I could also use chili sauce. My husband chose ketchup, but also likes barbeque sauce. This is not too spicy for the kids either. My personal favorite meatloaf is the Brown Sugar Meatloaf from this site but the rest of my family didn't care for that. This one made everyone happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Thos recipe was so easy and the results were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Pretty good. I added some garlic powder and dry onion soup mix instead of the fresh onion and salt. I also topped with a mixture of ketchup, brown sugar, worcesteshire sauce and a touch of mustard... no exact measurements, just mixed until I was satisifed with taste. I think that the recipe as it is written may be a little plain and needs enhancements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
REAL GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is the same recipe my mom taught me except I use one cup oats. I also mix together equal parts brown sugar and ketchup and put a little on top before cooking and more on before serving. My husband loves it. I made it for his family once and almost started a family feud because my mother-in-law said it was better than my sister-in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This recipe is a good starting point. I took some advice from previous reviews: I add some garlic salt and "chicken and poultry seasoning" (a few shakes of each) and I use a combo of rolled oats and breadcrumbs instead of just oats. I prefer to use turkey for health reasons and it's still very moist. My boyfriend didn't believe I made it myself! But I shared the recipe with my mom and forgot to mention the extra spices and it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States