Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I used monteray jack cheese and reduced fat cream cheese. Only coated them twice. Made 100 and put them in the freezer. I bake mine at 350 until cheese is hot and bubbly.........mmmmmmm....yummy!! I prefer baked not fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
970 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Wonderful recipe Heather. Thank You. I blanched my peppers in almost boiling water for 2 minutes. Then cooled them before filling. The peppers were just right, not too crunchy, not too soft. I did cook my bacon before adding it to the cheese mixture. Next time I will add more bacon. Also, after seeding the peppers they are not very spicy, so I think I will use Jalapeno cheese with the cream cheese for a little kick. I also sprinkled them with salt after they were fried. My husband wanted to eat the whole batch right then. I hope they freeze well, I want to use them when we go to an RV rally. Thanks a bunch for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
872 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Awesome recipe! The triple dipping process is a little time consuming, but the outcome is great. They freeze really well. After fying them I allowed them to cool, then put them on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer for a few hours. Once they were frozen I stored them in a freezer bag. I reheated them at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes. They came out great and reheating them softened the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
WOW! This recipe is THE BEST. Just like a restaurant. Triple coating and letting each coat "set" is key. Time consuming, but totally worth the effort. My only changes are that I use real bacon that I chop up and I blanch the peppers for 2 or 3 minutes before I stuff them. I grow jalapenos in my garden so I wait until I have a LOT of them and I increase this recipe as needed. Then I flash freeze the poppers BEFORE frying. Throw them into a freezer bag and whenever I want some poppers I can fry up as many or as little as needed. They are just as awesome from the freezer and You can get all the hard work done in one day! Thank you for this crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These were very eye appealing little goodies and very palatable. I was a little disappointed there was no heat to them. I suppose by eliminating the seeds you lose the hot effect. I will definately make them again with two small changes. Would use shredded pepperjack cheese to recapture the heat and seasoned bread crumbs, great breading but quite bland. Otherwise it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
I fixed these for a New Year's party last year and panicked becase I thought I lost the recipe! These are fantastic! These are great to make ahead and then freeze. Once they were hard, I popped them into a gallon freezer bag and we can take them out as we please without going through the hassel of preparing them. They cook great from frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
These poppers were the absolute best! I made a quick horseradish dipping sauce and it was just like my favorite restaurants. I used 1/2 c. mayo, 3/4 TBS. Katchup, 2TBS. horseradish, 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1 dash black pepper. My husband loved them...can't wait to take them to a party! Thank you so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I was sooooo disappointed with these!! After reading all the reviews, it just seemed to scream out 5 star, but these were definitely not! I used real bacon, jalapeno monterey jack cheese for a kick, and still the filling was completely bland. The whole thing was bland!! Will NOT be making these again!! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
The best popper recipe EVER! I had to use swiss cheese instead of cheddar because my husband doesn't like cheddar. If you like the heat, add the seeds and membrane (to your liking) to the cheese mixture. Also, I like to add garlic powder to the flour....can't go wrong there. This is a HUGE request for football season...as my hub has the guys over for EVERY game. Fabulous!! Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe for Jalapeno poppers and this one is a restaurant specialty in my kitchen! Fresh Jalapenos work wonderful in this recipe, I got mine right out of the garden. Beware though, DEFINITELY USE GLOVES! I didn't the first time and now I be sure to. Also, I found that it's best if cooking in a skillet on the stove to use shortening and be sure that it is at least deep enough to cover the entire jalapeno and stuffing. If you don't, you'll have to "flip them" in the oil and all the stuffing bubbles out. My whole family enjoyed these little babies, including my husband, who is very hard to please! Definitely try these for your next cook out, tailgate party, or just plain snack time. They're a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States