Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were great but we changed the batter to a batter we make for fried fish that contains cornstarch and Bisquick. We used a pastry bag to fill the jalapenos - much easier than a spoon. I would suggest preparing them ahead and freezing them so that the cream cheese center doesn't melt out of the popper in the cooking process. The teenagers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a GREAT starter recipe. I say starter for you do need to add spices based on your on taste. First let me say that the cream cheese mixture is way more than you need for the amount of peppers it calls for. However you do need more milk, flour and bread crumbs than it calls for. Every ones taste is different so keep that in mind when making them. I made 230 of them yesterday but this is how I spiced it up. I used half sharp cheddar and half pepper jack cheese. To my flour mixture I added cayenne pepper, garlic and onion powder, plus black pepper. I used fresh peppers out my own garden, but due to de-seeding them they where not hot. I used Progresso garlic and herb bread crumbs and even added some more cayenne pepper to it. I made just 6 all the way and fried them so I would know if I need to add anything else to the mixture before I made all 230. By doing so I knew to add more cayenne pepper for we like very hot foods. Do follow the direction and do the 3 dip coating. I placed them in freezer bag and froze them. I pulled some out from the freezer later and fried them. They did great from freezer to frying pan, do keep in mind that due to being frozen you need to cook them a little bit longer and not so fast (to high). It does take a while do make them due to the de-seeding and 3 time dipping, but well worth it. I will make them many time in the future. 0(*@*)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is the perfect recipe!I made them ahead of time put in fridge then fried them later. They came out perfectly!My son told me i better have jalapenos on hand at all times!A very hard family to please and they loved them. Great for game day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Make sure you use the gloves. I thought I was a superstar and I didn't bother using them or a spoon to scoop out the seads. I used my hands and they have been burning hot for the last 6 hours. I have soaked my hands in milk, in cold water, used ice and even coated them with vaseline but that didn't work. On the bright side they were a hit. I used green onions and a whole jar of real bacon bits. I would add more shredded cheese next time to make them gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
as someone who hates deep frying, i made modifications with this recipe after liking the taste from my first try (first try based on the exact recipe and steps). Used turkey bacon, cut the jalapeños in half and eliminated the flour. instead, i only dipped it with milk and panko italian style bread crumbs and baked it for 30-35 minutes. Not as crunchy as it is deep fired but tastes wise it is still excellent! ...and a lot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I have a batch of these in the oven as we speak. I blanched my peppers for two minutes before to make them more tender. I used a little catfish breading mixed with the bread crumbs (cause I had it on hand.)And somje crushed ranch flavored crackers. My cheese was shredded white cheddar seasoned with dried onion, chile powder,garlic powder and black pepper. My peppers are fresh from my garden.You should smell it. OMG! I did the triple breading and it looks like I got great coverage. I can't wait to taste. I have a NUWave oven and I'm baking on high for 20 minutes. I may have to add time. We'll see. they smell good enough no matter how they taste. Mmmm. Eating them now. So Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Well I boiled about 2 lbs of fresh out of the garden top cut/de-seeded jalapenos for 10 min. Sure cleans out the sinuses/chest LOL. Used 12oz of cream cheese and 6oz of Colby/mont. jack with 2 caps of bacon. Dipped in milk, flour then with bread crumbs that got a little darker than I wanted(was on the lap top) but they really turned out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather86
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
These are so good... I used a beaten egg instead of milk tho will definitely make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made these poppers as the recipe recommended and found them to be very time consuming but tasty. I used peppers from my garden, sharp cheddar and fresh fried bacon, the taste was amazing! I expected the breading to be too thick and tasteless based on the number of layers of flour and bread crumbs but it was very thin yet held the cream cheese mixture in perfectly. As recommended by other reviewers, I did par cook the peppers for 2-3 minutes in boiling water and allowed them to cool before stuffing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These are time consuming but well worth the wait. As I make them more and more (which I will), I bet it will take less time. Very easy recipe. I baked mine in the oven at about 375 until they become a little brown. Perfect! It is very hard to mess this recipe up. The only down side I found was that while slicing the peppers my skin was getting irritated-but that comes with cooking with peppers. Rinse hands often to keep from getting too uncomfortable. I was going to see how well they froze, but had none left to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela LaForest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States