Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made these poppers as the recipe recommended and found them to be very time consuming but tasty. I used peppers from my garden, sharp cheddar and fresh fried bacon, the taste was amazing! I expected the breading to be too thick and tasteless based on the number of layers of flour and bread crumbs but it was very thin yet held the cream cheese mixture in perfectly. As recommended by other reviewers, I did par cook the peppers for 2-3 minutes in boiling water and allowed them to cool before stuffing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These are time consuming but well worth the wait. As I make them more and more (which I will), I bet it will take less time. Very easy recipe. I baked mine in the oven at about 375 until they become a little brown. Perfect! It is very hard to mess this recipe up. The only down side I found was that while slicing the peppers my skin was getting irritated-but that comes with cooking with peppers. Rinse hands often to keep from getting too uncomfortable. I was going to see how well they froze, but had none left to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious! I substituted ground sausage for the bacon and added cumin, sage and chili powder to the filling. I also switched the breadcrumbs for crushed Ritz crackers which I also added the above seasonings to. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Wow they came out so crispy and restaurant quality! The dust bath I made wee bland as the recipe doesn't call for any salt or seasoning. I kicked the filling up with same cayenne pepper, paparika and salt. I used Italian bread crumbs that I also seasoned with oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
really were the best and I am new in the kitchen. I made these for my girlfriend and she was extremely impressed. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pookie89
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I started with this recipe and used some suggestions from other reviews and after a few batches, I think that I perfected this recipe. They came out much better when blanched first. I also stuffed the peppers with cream cheese, sharp cheddar cheese, pepper monterey jack cheese and parm cheese. I didn't put the bacon bits in. I also didn't coat them so many times because I didn't have time and I added crushed tostito chips to the panko crumbs after to give it a little crunch and then baked them at 350 until the cheese bubbled. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Fantastic! It isnt an 'instant' recipe though and takes a while to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Made these today on a rainy day when there was not a lot else to do. Used my own garden jalapenos and followed the recipe exactly. I prepared them, placed them in the fridge until I was ready to fry and the cooked to perfection. Boy oh boy. My Jalapenos are HOT! I seeded with rubber gloves and took all precautions, but I guess jalapeno peppers depend on where they are grown, but I am going to be sorry tomorrow. I am freezing the leftover deep fried poppers and hope they are as good when reheated. Great recipe. Thanks! BTW, they didn't need to be blanched at all. Pepper skin was just as tender as if they had been blanched or roasted in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quantumfood
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Only change, I replaced the cheddar cheese in the filling with Smoked Gouda cheese. Yumm... I'm not sure why the cheese oozed out of some of the poppers while frying though. This recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States