Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These were not complicated to make. The breading was nice and thick and stuck well to the pepper. However, the other reviewers are correct in stating that the peppers should be par cooked to avoid crunchy peppers when deep frying. Also, the whole thing was lacking flavor. When I make these again, I will make sure to season the flour and breadcrumbs well. I will also quickly grill the pepper halves to give more flavor and season them with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These jalapeno poppers were pretty good, but the process of making them was extremely time consuming. There are are similar recipes (that are not fried) that are even tastier, but much easier to make! I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I tweaked things a bit and was very happy. I did the cream cheese (only 8 oz) but added cheddar and some salsa con queso I had (Mission brand, medium), but I didn't put in bacon, only because I didn't have any bacon on hand. I also added a couple tablespoons of cornstarch to the flour, and only dipped twice in the milk/flour before dipping one final time in milk and then into panko. Then I tossed them into the microwave for 2 minutes 30 seconds before oven at 375 for 20 then 425 for another 10 or so. The family loved them, and even though it was a small batch they are gone. I wasn't super careful about removing ALL the seeds and membranes, we love hot Hot HOT and I was pleasantly surprised. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I just made these for the first time and they are delicious!Make sure not to overheat the oil, I burned my first one. So easy, so quick, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We tried this last night and I followed the recipe exactly. They were gobbled up instantly. Everyone wants more! Even my kids loved them. The only complaint was that they were not spicy enough. Perfectly crispy. Wonderful. May try baking them and adding natural sausage with or in place of bacon bits. Normally, we don't care for cream cheese filled jalapenos, but these really were worth the effort. Would be nice to fry some, freeze them, and bake them later, but will be tough to have extras. They are that delicious! May never go back to frozen store bought ones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I've had rave reviews from all, these are my new favorite appetizer to make, a little time consuming but worth it. Tried the recipe both with the jalapeno seeds and without. You only need just a few seeds for a big hot kick. I also took the suggestion to add some monterey jack cheese, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were so good! They were very easy to make and were a total hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yum! Made these for a party and they were gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made these last night and they were awesome. My 10 year old went crazy for them, and my husband asked me to make them as an appetizer for Christmas. I followed the recipe except I used tempura to coat them in because I was out of bread crumbs, and I omitted the bacon because I was making a bacon pasta as well. Still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I changed the recipe a little and put the jalapenos in boiling water for about 2-3mins (so the can soften a little). I used mild chedder cheese, kraft bacon bits, and whipped low fat cream cheese. I also used italian bread crums instead of the regular ones.I used double the amount of bacon bits the recipe said to use. My husband loved them. He gets jalapenos poppers at every restaurant we go too and he said they tasted better then any restaurant-I agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States