Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe, just did a small batch, I'll try a bag batch and freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Took an incredible amount of time to make. I doubled the recipient and stuffed 36 peppers. Pro: the multiple dredging and breadcrumb steps ensured the entire pepper WAS covered... Worked perfectly! Con : long prep and only pretty good in terms of taste...and sorely lacked in terms of heat. I parboiled peppers for 4 minutes. Doubled bacon, added garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper and onion powder to flour and breadcrumbs. Added a little less than a tsp of seeds to cheese mix. Finally, added a few shakes of Tabasco sauce to milk. Still not enough flavor / heat. I've only sampled 2 so far....and I'm hoping I got the 2 weak ones of the bunch,... Will taste more this w/ e. so... They are ok... But certainly not great...at least as baked. I was hoping not to fry... But now reconsidering. Next time.... Probably will be one.... Ill add more Tabasco to milk and definatly add at least 1.5 tsp of seeds to the double cheese batter. On the positive side, these are mild enough to share with a mixed crowd. 1 st time making poppers.... And thankful for the starting place ...will tweak to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These were not complicated to make. The breading was nice and thick and stuck well to the pepper. However, the other reviewers are correct in stating that the peppers should be par cooked to avoid crunchy peppers when deep frying. Also, the whole thing was lacking flavor. When I make these again, I will make sure to season the flour and breadcrumbs well. I will also quickly grill the pepper halves to give more flavor and season them with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These jalapeno poppers were pretty good, but the process of making them was extremely time consuming. There are are similar recipes (that are not fried) that are even tastier, but much easier to make! I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I tweaked things a bit and was very happy. I did the cream cheese (only 8 oz) but added cheddar and some salsa con queso I had (Mission brand, medium), but I didn't put in bacon, only because I didn't have any bacon on hand. I also added a couple tablespoons of cornstarch to the flour, and only dipped twice in the milk/flour before dipping one final time in milk and then into panko. Then I tossed them into the microwave for 2 minutes 30 seconds before oven at 375 for 20 then 425 for another 10 or so. The family loved them, and even though it was a small batch they are gone. I wasn't super careful about removing ALL the seeds and membranes, we love hot Hot HOT and I was pleasantly surprised. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I just made these for the first time and they are delicious!Make sure not to overheat the oil, I burned my first one. So easy, so quick, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We tried this last night and I followed the recipe exactly. They were gobbled up instantly. Everyone wants more! Even my kids loved them. The only complaint was that they were not spicy enough. Perfectly crispy. Wonderful. May try baking them and adding natural sausage with or in place of bacon bits. Normally, we don't care for cream cheese filled jalapenos, but these really were worth the effort. Would be nice to fry some, freeze them, and bake them later, but will be tough to have extras. They are that delicious! May never go back to frozen store bought ones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I've had rave reviews from all, these are my new favorite appetizer to make, a little time consuming but worth it. Tried the recipe both with the jalapeno seeds and without. You only need just a few seeds for a big hot kick. I also took the suggestion to add some monterey jack cheese, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were so good! They were very easy to make and were a total hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbinsgirl01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yum! Made these for a party and they were gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States