Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great as written. Made a second batch with half blue cheese as well. You can easily tweek these for your preference. Used panko bread crumbs and only breaded once (I did try double breading on some - it didn't seem necessary and made batter too thick for my taste). Followed all the drying times and put finished poppers into fridge until ready to fry. Had zero issues. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I know some people were unhappy with the amount of heat, but even taking membranes and seeds out, some jalapenos keep much of their heat. Last year our jalapenos were extremely mild. We were able to eat them straight off the plant! This year they are hot and even stay hot after making them into poppers. They are still good after freezing and reheating in the oven. So glad to those who shared that info! I don't blanch them because I like the crunch of the pepper. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Like some of the other reviews after cutting the peppers in half and removing the seeds I bleached them in boiling water for a minute then placed in an ice bath. Dried them with paper towels before starting the whole process. Very time consuming but worth every minute. We freeze them once done then pack them up in bags of 12 each to keep frozen for football Sunday! The family loves them. The blanching of the jalapeño first makes the difference as sometimes in the frying process they didn't get cooked enough for our liking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry V.
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The first batch I made I used half a fresh pepper for each. Now, I like hot...but these were HOT! For the next batch, I divided the pepper into thirds. Much better. Don't be afraid to let them "rest" between coatings. A neat trick I never heard of but it works! Making them again real soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious! I blanched the jalapenos prior to stuffing them. I put in a little pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and cayenne to the mixture. I also added some of the seeds to the mixture to ensure it was spicy. I cooked them in the oven instead, at 425 for 15 minutes, turning them half way. Will definitely be prepping more to freeze them for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Ann Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made these for a get-together and everyone loved them. Granted, they took time. I threw them in the freezer after each coating (flour, breadcrumbs, breadcrumbs) to harden. I ran out of breadcrumbs it took so many, so be prepared with lots on hand. Also, I omitted the bacon bits. I did try baking these and did not like the texture - luckily I only baked 2 to see how they would taste. The rest we fried and they were incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Heather, I have been using your recipe for these poppers since 2002, and I've made thousands of them, in fact, I am making a batch of 70 poppers today. People have stated growing jalapenos in their gardens and bringing them to me to make these poppers for them. Some even buy the cream cheese & bacon too... lol, and I didn't even ask them to do this... too funny! My husband loves them too! And you are right when you said that they don't last long... I think I've probably enjoyed maybe only 8 of these poppers myself out of the thousands I've made, but personally I get more satisfaction from seeing everyone else enjoying them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
excellent!! I followed it almost exactly, just added a little panko bread crumbs to the regular bread crumbs. I didn't have a problem with just one coating, but I fried them in a deep fryer, they were nice and crispy and looked and tasted delicious. will definitely be making these again as I have lots of jalapeno peppers in my garden. Thank-you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihi
Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These were so good!! The only thing I did different was dip them in ranch dressing, then breading, then milk, and then breading again. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnksimmons
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
awesome! I've made them a few times now and followed a few of the tips I found here: *use a little bit of pepperjack cheese in place of cheddar *parboil the jalepenos for about 2 min so they are a little softer *tip from my brother that really works-rub hands with cooking oil prior to touching the peppers to prevent burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States