Best Ever Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I just made this and it tastes really great - very easy to make as well. My only warning - I used a 9 inch cake pan as noted in the recipe - definitely not big enough, luckily I put the pan on a cookie sheet, or this would have been all over the oven. Will make again, next time in a bigger pan, maybe a tube/bundt pan would probably be perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this recipe twice now. Didn't bake evenly in a 9" pie pan either time. Went over sides first time. Second time, used a deeper pan, but bread ended up very dry because of its density and time necessary to bake through. Took two different breads to work. The other recipe went very quickly while this one still has some sitting in break room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Oh...MG! This soda bread was amazing! WAS because I brought it to a pre St. Paddy's Day party and bu-bye. All gone. I, too, added a little vanilla and an extra 1/2 cup sugar as the other reviews suggested. I ground cinnamon and sugar (comes combined in a grinder at Trader Joe's) on top and baked in 2-9" round pans. Seriously, the best soda bread I've ever had. Not at all like the kind I remember growing up (DRY.) This was moist with just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I hope everyone enjoys this recipe! This is my mom's recipe and it's pretty hard to beat! This is an authentic Irish-American recipe - that's what we are! My mom passed away in 2013 but she would be so happy knowing her wonderful recipe is being shared :) Can't wait to make this year, enjoy everyone! After you make it, try it lightly toasted smeared with some Irish butter... it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made this for St. Patrick's Day. Followed suggestions and added 1/2 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Put batter in 2 9-inch cake pans. When they were done baking poured some melted butter on top and sprinkled on some green sugar. Turned out amazing!! Everyone loved it. Made 8 loaves and gave them out for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIFFS
Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe, except for tossing in some vanilla extract, used a 9" cake pan, 2 " high, and sprinkled a little sugar on top before baking. Loverly !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Not often does anyone ask for the recipe of something I serve. When my friend, the professional baker asked for it, I was thrilled. Add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar (stumbled on this by accident, but it was better for it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Harvey Olsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is the real deal as far as Irish Soda Bread is concerned, both my parent are from Ireland and while their recipes have a tiny bit of variance,(much like Italian families meatball recipes do) the end result is authentic and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terra-Matris
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This bread was wonderful...I added the dried fruit, and a bit of dark chocolate...HMmmm. This will become a "quick go-to recipe" for when you just want something quick, easy and wonderfully moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just got this recipe today and decided to try it immediately. It was a breeze to mix up, didn't even need a mixer. I followed the recipe and directions exactly, except I didn't have a 9-inch round cake pan. Instead I used a round casserole dish the same size. The finished product is beautiful, rounded and golden brown. Once it cooled, I sliced it and it slices beautifully too. However the texture is not like any soda bread I've ever had before. It's more like a muffin or quick bread. It's a little bit sweet too. I think it would be marvelous with peanut butter on it and I will definitely make it again. I just won't plan to serve sandwiches on it. It would be lovely toasted with butter & jam with hot tea also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Glidden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States