Best Ever Creamy Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe definitly lives up to it's name as being the "best ever"! I made the soup last night to rave reviews. I made a few minor adjustments as follows. First, I added 1/4tsp. Cayenne Pepper to "kick it up a notch". Then I added 1/2 cup sour cream (yummy). And I made sure that the 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese was sharp! That added so much more flavor. Excellent recipie. Would make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
For taste, I would give this recipe way more than five stars! It tasted great--I loved the combination of vegetables, plus I added a couple of carrots, and substituted frozen chopped spinach. My only other additions were salt, pepper, and the tabasco that I add to all cheese soups. The texture of mine turned out crappy, though, but I'm pretty sure it's because I didn't have enough potatoes. I'd already started putting it together before getting out the potatoes, and I maybe had 1 1/2 pounds, so the cheese had nothing to stick to but itself. Despite that debacle, everybody loved it, and I will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
If you have some time to prepare all the veggies and potatoes (it probably took me 45 minutes to chop everything) then it's worth the work! This soup was super creamy, I couldn't believe there wasn't milk or cream in it. I didn't chop the broccoli and califlower enough, so the pieces were too big- that's what I would change next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Little pepper and it's perfect! Hooray for *real* food!! It's refreshing to find a recipe that's doesn't called for bags of frozen vegetables, dehydrated potatoes, canned soups and processed cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlet begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I scaled this down to 4 servings. To make it vegetarian I used vegetable bouillon instead of the chicken. After tasting I added some garlic powder. My daughter likes her soup quite chunky so I only blended about a third of the soup. Very enjoyable and bound to be on the menu again. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I have a hard time getting my husband to eat vegetables, but he loved this. It turned out very green, which I loved but he was hesitant about, but it was so good he didn't mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This soup has a fantastic flavor. My husband had oral surgery and needed something totally soft to eat; so we pureed the whole thing, broccoli, cauliflower and all. It was really tasty and had a great texture. However I am really looking forward to trying again with the original recipe when his mouth is healed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I was looking to use up some broccoli and cauliflower that I had and stumbled upon this recipe. I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I just used what was on hand. I added some little bits of grilled chicken. Exciting way to use up my veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYMG3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but pureed it a bit more. I also added sour cream after reading the other reviews, and I recommend it. It tastes almost like a loaded baked potato. Very creamy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Just tried this and LOVED! Blended everything together added some sour cream at the end ,a bit of chili powder and parmesan instead of the cheddar. Great in the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maura Connor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States