Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
These crab cakes were AMAZING! And so easy to make!! We prepared them just as instructed with one exception - we split the mayo amount in 1/2 and with the remaining 1/2 used whole grain mustard. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGrainger
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good and quick to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I recently went crabbing in Oregon at Netarts Bay and caught our limit of Dungeness Crab. We ate as many crabs as we could and decided to make the remaining crab into crab cakes. I pulled up this recipe and was not disappointed. I wouldn't change a thing. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Really tasty! But even with going by the book on ingredients they wanted to break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iTsNENE
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Easy. Delish and I would make again ! I too used old bay seasoning & I also used real & imitation crab meat. It was just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was amazing didn't have tarragon so I used minced garlic instead... I also added garlic salt, New Orleans seasoning and a small amount of parm cheese... Best iv ever had!!! We would most def make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My first time making crab cakes. They were quite delicious. I live on the Gulf Coast in FL so we had blue crab. I followed the recipe pretty close however I wanted a little more spice so I made up a cajun seasoning using salt, dry mustard, onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and cayenne pepper. I didn't have any tarragon so I used the cajun seasoning instead. Then after I mixed it up it was a little wetter than needed so I put panko bread crumbs on the outside and fried in coconut oil! The hubby and I were very happy! ! Great quick easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Really great recipe! Next time I will use less mayo and add diced red pepper and garlic. I used leftover capinno from a seafood restaurant in Minneapolis. Best leftover idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
It's a good base recipe. I had never made crab cakes before so I was going into this as an experiment. I am a home cook, but my ambition says I am a professional chef. I decided to give mine a Mediterranean flair. I replaced the Mayo with Greet yogurt, used a tablespoon of lemon juice and a teaspoon of cooking wine, and I used a generous amount of sage, orange peel and paprika. I also used panko instead of crushed crackers. I just added until I liked the consistency. Honestly, if you follow this recipe I would use much more seasoning that it calls for. Never underestimate the power of salt and pepper, either. Crab is a VERY strong flavor, and you don't want your spices to surrender. Good to pair with Mediterranean spiced grits or Tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The 4-star rating would be a 5 if you asked all but one person in the family, me. It was a very simple recipe to duplicate, even with substitutions such as oregano replacing tarragon. The taste was good I'm simply a downer for imitation crab meat which was all we had. Being a very open-minded eater, capable of menudo, seasonal game, etc. I was surprised I didn't enjoy it more. The texture got to me a little, even though we used extra crackers to try & help hold it together. I would still recommend this as a fun "family-prep" meal item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States