Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
When I saw the "Best Ever" in the title, I was curious and had to try the recipe, even though I already have a favorite. This proved to be very good, but it can't compete with Shirley Phillips Crab Cakes(from the Phillips Food web site). This is the site for the famous Phillips restaurant at the Baltimore Inner Harbor. Their crab cakes are my favorite anywhere in the world (and I try them everywhere), but I live in the Midwest and rarely get to Baltimore to indulge. Luckily, I discovered that the recipe for Shirley Phillips Crab cakes is comparable. The recipe is available both on the web site and on the cans of Phillips Crab. If you really like crab cakes, you want the primary ingredient to be crab, with only enough filler to hold the crab together. The "Best Ever Crab Cakes" have twice as much bread/cracker filler as the Phillips version, which is the main reason that I prefer the latter. If you can't find Phillips Seafood Seasoning, you can substitute Old Bay, which is available everywhere. I can't tell the difference. Note that I have no connection to Phillips, other than as a customer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
A mild but lovely flavor. I think next time I'll try adding a little old bay seasoning myself, and perhaps maybe add a little parm crust to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FairestDonna
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Overall this was good. It needed a little extra seasoning. I think the crab I had might not have been the best either. I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Skipped the tarragon, added dill. Try it with sriracha/chiopotle mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I thought the amount of tarragon was high, so I cut it in half and added the same amount of creole seasoning. It was still too much tarragon (but a hint of tarragon definitely adds something to the crab cakes). If I were to do the recipe again, I would cut the mayo in half too. All the mayo and crackers was too much filling. I liked the fact that there was no celery or peppers in there though. Lots of good thoughts in the recipe; just needed to be brought together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We have used this recipe twice and it just keeps getting better each time. Made them for 12 people and everyone remarks how delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Not impressed at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
These crab cakes were AMAZING! And so easy to make!! We prepared them just as instructed with one exception - we split the mayo amount in 1/2 and with the remaining 1/2 used whole grain mustard. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGrainger
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good and quick to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States