Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My first time making crab cakes. They were quite delicious. I live on the Gulf Coast in FL so we had blue crab. I followed the recipe pretty close however I wanted a little more spice so I made up a cajun seasoning using salt, dry mustard, onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and cayenne pepper. I didn't have any tarragon so I used the cajun seasoning instead. Then after I mixed it up it was a little wetter than needed so I put panko bread crumbs on the outside and fried in coconut oil! The hubby and I were very happy! ! Great quick easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Really great recipe! Next time I will use less mayo and add diced red pepper and garlic. I used leftover capinno from a seafood restaurant in Minneapolis. Best leftover idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
It's a good base recipe. I had never made crab cakes before so I was going into this as an experiment. I am a home cook, but my ambition says I am a professional chef. I decided to give mine a Mediterranean flair. I replaced the Mayo with Greet yogurt, used a tablespoon of lemon juice and a teaspoon of cooking wine, and I used a generous amount of sage, orange peel and paprika. I also used panko instead of crushed crackers. I just added until I liked the consistency. Honestly, if you follow this recipe I would use much more seasoning that it calls for. Never underestimate the power of salt and pepper, either. Crab is a VERY strong flavor, and you don't want your spices to surrender. Good to pair with Mediterranean spiced grits or Tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The 4-star rating would be a 5 if you asked all but one person in the family, me. It was a very simple recipe to duplicate, even with substitutions such as oregano replacing tarragon. The taste was good I'm simply a downer for imitation crab meat which was all we had. Being a very open-minded eater, capable of menudo, seasonal game, etc. I was surprised I didn't enjoy it more. The texture got to me a little, even though we used extra crackers to try & help hold it together. I would still recommend this as a fun "family-prep" meal item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I've made plenty of crab cakes, but these were super good! I think the tarragon puts them over the top. Only addition I made was a little spicy brown mustard in the mix. I usually put a few capers in mine but didn't have any and still loved them. Hubby said best ones he's ever had. Thanks so much for an easy excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Good recipe, My family absolutely loved these and they only took minutes to prepare. It is really hard to find affordable crab meat that isn't that imitation stuff. Lately I've been ordering my crab meat from amazon, Trader Joe's brand is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Mine didn't look very pretty, but they tasted fantastic. They were super easy to make and inexpensive, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I had a Crab Cake cook off and these won hands down. I do add a tsp. of old bay...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I added another cup of crushed Ritz crackers and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blujin87
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wow! These are amazing! I have never made crab cakes before because I have tried them other places and didn't care too much for them. We had some left over crab legs, so I though I would give them a try. I am SO happy I did. My husband and I both loved them. I made the recipe the way it calls except that I didn't have any tarragon so I replaced that with basil. They turned out great! I cannot wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States