Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Meh. That's really all I can say about these crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I did not drain the canned crab meat nearly enough, making the mix so wet I had to add WAY too much crushed crackers to it to get it to a consistency I could use. That meant that the overwhelming flavor was store bought crackers. Next time I think I'll use dryer meat, and also perhaps a more neutral binder, like breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I tried the recipe with Old Bay seasoning instead of tarragon but I should have cut the measurement by half, ended up a bit too salty because of the Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
When I saw the "Best Ever" in the title, I was curious and had to try the recipe, even though I already have a favorite. This proved to be very good, but it can't compete with Shirley Phillips Crab Cakes from the Phillips restaurant at the Baltimore Inner Harbor. The "Best Ever Crab Cakes" have twice as much bread/cracker filler as the Phillips version, which is the main reason that I prefer the latter. If you can't find Phillips Seafood Seasoning, you can substitute Old Bay, which is available everywhere. I can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
A mild but lovely flavor. I think next time I'll try adding a little old bay seasoning myself, and perhaps maybe add a little parm crust to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FairestDonna
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Overall this was good. It needed a little extra seasoning. I think the crab I had might not have been the best either. I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Skipped the tarragon, added dill. Try it with sriracha/chiopotle mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I thought the amount of tarragon was high, so I cut it in half and added the same amount of creole seasoning. It was still too much tarragon (but a hint of tarragon definitely adds something to the crab cakes). If I were to do the recipe again, I would cut the mayo in half too. All the mayo and crackers was too much filling. I liked the fact that there was no celery or peppers in there though. Lots of good thoughts in the recipe; just needed to be brought together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We have used this recipe twice and it just keeps getting better each time. Made them for 12 people and everyone remarks how delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States