Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I modified according to what another reviewer suggested and this recipe tasted fantastic: decrease sugar to 5 tbsp, decrease vanilla to 1/2 tsp, decrease bisquick to 1 1/4 cup and increase cornmeal to 1/2 cup. Just the right amount of corn taste. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Best sweet corn muffins ever! I made a few changes that made them AMAZING! First off, I took the baking mix down to 1 1/4 c. and increased the corn meal to 1/2 c. I also only used 5 tbsp. of sugar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Lightly sweet and the perfect amount of corn taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good corn muffins - although I'm not sure if I'd go so far as to call them the "best ever". They were very easy to make and whip up in a pinch. I cut back on the sugar using 1/4 cup and then added a Tbsp. of honey and left out the vanilla entirely. Like others, I used 1 & 1/4 cups of biscuit baking mix and upped the cornmeal to 1/2 cup which worked out well. In order to ensure a moist muffin, I used 2/3 cup of buttermilk vs. milk. I baked these for 20 minutes and they were lightly golden brown on top. These are perfect for chili, soup, or as a side for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
delicious! i experimented a little to make them less fat and calories and the things i did worked...i only put 2 tablespoons of butter (i actually used smart beat spead), and one table spoon of apple sauce, 2 egg whites instead of the whole 2 eggs, and 5 1/2 tablespoons of sugar insead of 9 and they turned out great! I also used reduced-fat bisquick! *=o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
WOW! I have been looking for a corbread recipe that is softer and more cake-like than most. This is it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
Very easy to follow and very good results. The recipe says it makes 12 muffins and I came out with just 6 med. size so perhaps 12 is a typo??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
These were very good! I love corn bread/muffins and this is one of the best I have tried, the only thing is is that they are very sweet, so if that's not what you are looking for these aren't for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This recipe does not cut it as a "corn" muffin. However it makes the best ever cupcakes by adjusting the sugar to 2/3 cup. I got 12 small cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
These were great! Cake-like and sweet. I made 6 muffins out of the batter instead of 12 because we like to have a nice big top on them. I used low fat biscuit mix and they still tasted wonderful. Will definitely make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A little too sweet for this Southern girl, but the kids devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Corn Dog Muffins

Here is a muffin that's got all of the ingredients and flavors of a corn dog!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States