Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These had a thick "eggy" consistency. Thats the only way i know how to describe it. It didnt taste like corn muffins at all. Not even close. I tried adding more cornmeal, less sugar, less biscuit mix, nothing worked. i was only able to get 11 cupcake sized muffins and they were done in 17 minutes. As stated and also with changes I didnt get a desired result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
As soon as i looked at this recipe i tryed it right away and im glad i did it was so fantastic i ran out of muffins very quick! Everyone wwanted me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trenton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My family did not care for the vanilla flavor and they felt they were too sweet. I would omit the vanilla and cut down the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldred, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
1st of all, I made cornbread in a cast iron skillet instead of muffins. I didn't have any bisquick, so I just added 2 t of baking powder and about 1/2 t salt to all purpose flour. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I had to leave for about an hour so had hubby listen for the timer & gave him instructions on what to do. Well got home and was done, what HE did though was to turn off the oven leaving cornbread in the oven while he took off for a while. To my surprise, it was done to perfection. This was the best cornbread I've ever made! Passed hubby's test as well. This will now be my cornbread recipe from now on. I may justturn off the oven and let it finish, myself next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were super yummy, easy to make, and ingredients I usually have on hand. However, like many, the muffins stuck to the pan. I greased instead of sprayed, like some suggested, but they still stuck. This happened on both the full size and mini pans, so it wasn't just my pan. Next time I will flour as well. Maybe that will keep them from sticking. I did add a can of drained whole kernel corn, just because I like whole corn in my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
A DEFINATE make again. I used the alterations suggested on earlier reviews. I would use the 9 T. sugar next time though as I like that level of sweetness. This produces an extremely moist muffin. The test will be if they maintain their moistness (sealed in a bag of course) until tomorrows sunday lunch. Thank you all for the the initial recipe and all the suggestions to personalize it. Great cooks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I make cornbread something like this by combining Jiffy cornbread mix with Jiffy golden cake mix. Use directions on boxes. BA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I will definitely make these again. I served these with chili so I didn't want them to be all that sweet. I reduced the sugar from 9T to only 3T and I omitted the vanilla. I used gluten free baking mix. These were fantastic gluten free, slightly sweet corn bread muffins. I used muffin cups because everyone said they stick. They even stuck to the paper a little. I'd definitely use the muffin cups!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These are really good. The vanilla gives them a nice sweetness. I add yellow corn kernels, diced jalapenos from the jar, and grated cheddar cheese to the batter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I did use vegetable oil in my muffin pan, which worked just fine. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States