Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used my own homemade whole wheat baking mix and buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did add a little more buttermilk (almost another quarter cup) because whole wheat flour tends to be more dry than regular AP flour. These were okay--more like cornmeal flavored biscuits than muffins. I'm glad I used my own baking mix because if I'd used something like Bisquick, I think these would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Just made these... the texture and flavor were good. Added more cornmeal and cut back a little on the bisquick and used 5T of brown sugar instead of the 9T of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I don't know if my review will really "count" as there were drastic changes to the recipe. Firstly I lowered the amount of sugar like several other reviews to 5 tbsp and I was going to add a little bit of honey but I spaced and forgot. Also when I was putting together the bisquit and cornmeal, I found that I only had 3/4 cup of bisquit left- erg. So I upped the cornmeal to 1 cup. I prayed that it wouldnt turn out bad and they didnt! My kids loved them and I like how they were more like corn bread since we were eating it with chili. This recipe is awesome because even if you have to alter it (due to whats in the cupboard) everything should work out. Note: I used buttermilk instead of whole milk but I don't know that it really makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustBoysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
YEA!!! I used GLUTEN FREE Bisquick (1 1/4 cup) with 1/2 cup corn meal based on other reviews, 5 tblsp sugar and 1/2 tblsp vanilla...and they are GREAT!. Thank you for posting this! My daughter is gluten free and any time we can make a dinner roll/biscuit that tastes gluten full but is gluten free we are thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fausterlady
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, not the best I've ever had. Very crumbly, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious- wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These muffins are some of the sweetest and best corm muffins I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very good breakfast muffin. Soft with good corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good corn muffins - although I'm not sure if I'd go so far as to call them the "best ever". They were very easy to make and whip up in a pinch. I cut back on the sugar using 1/4 cup and then added a Tbsp. of honey and left out the vanilla entirely. Like others, I used 1 & 1/4 cups of biscuit baking mix and upped the cornmeal to 1/2 cup which worked out well. In order to ensure a moist muffin, I used 2/3 cup of buttermilk vs. milk. I baked these for 20 minutes and they were lightly golden brown on top. These are perfect for chili, soup, or as a side for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Pros: super easy and have all the ingredients! For me, the cons were: very dense, and with soup didn't add the "crumble, soak" factor of a traditional cornbread. And, very sweet -- my daughter liked them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States