Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I modified according to what another reviewer suggested and this recipe tasted fantastic: decrease sugar to 5 tbsp, decrease vanilla to 1/2 tsp, decrease bisquick to 1 1/4 cup and increase cornmeal to 1/2 cup. Just the right amount of corn taste. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Best sweet corn muffins ever! I made a few changes that made them AMAZING! First off, I took the baking mix down to 1 1/4 c. and increased the corn meal to 1/2 c. I also only used 5 tbsp. of sugar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Lightly sweet and the perfect amount of corn taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good corn muffins - although I'm not sure if I'd go so far as to call them the "best ever". They were very easy to make and whip up in a pinch. I cut back on the sugar using 1/4 cup and then added a Tbsp. of honey and left out the vanilla entirely. Like others, I used 1 & 1/4 cups of biscuit baking mix and upped the cornmeal to 1/2 cup which worked out well. In order to ensure a moist muffin, I used 2/3 cup of buttermilk vs. milk. I baked these for 20 minutes and they were lightly golden brown on top. These are perfect for chili, soup, or as a side for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
delicious! i experimented a little to make them less fat and calories and the things i did worked...i only put 2 tablespoons of butter (i actually used smart beat spead), and one table spoon of apple sauce, 2 egg whites instead of the whole 2 eggs, and 5 1/2 tablespoons of sugar insead of 9 and they turned out great! I also used reduced-fat bisquick! *=o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
WOW! I have been looking for a corbread recipe that is softer and more cake-like than most. This is it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
Very easy to follow and very good results. The recipe says it makes 12 muffins and I came out with just 6 med. size so perhaps 12 is a typo??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
These were very good! I love corn bread/muffins and this is one of the best I have tried, the only thing is is that they are very sweet, so if that's not what you are looking for these aren't for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This recipe does not cut it as a "corn" muffin. However it makes the best ever cupcakes by adjusting the sugar to 2/3 cup. I got 12 small cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
These were great! Cake-like and sweet. I made 6 muffins out of the batter instead of 12 because we like to have a nice big top on them. I used low fat biscuit mix and they still tasted wonderful. Will definitely make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A little too sweet for this Southern girl, but the kids devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States