Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This are amazing! I did change the bisquick to cornmeal ratio (1 1/4cup bisquick and 1/2 cup cornmeal). I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yes, they're sweet... But these muffins are delicious! I followed the original recipe as is, and next time I will use 1/2 cup cornmeal as other reviewers had said. Other than that, the recipe is great. If you are in the south, these will not be your typical corn muffin! This is a northern-tasting recipe, the land of sweet cornbread. I used white cornmeal and they still turned out golden yellow (probably because of the eggs and butter), so if white cornmeal is all you have, no worries, you'll still get golden corn muffins. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I LOVE these corn muffins! My dad grew up on dry cornbread so he isn't a fan of these but as I was never a fan of dry, sometimes not even cooked all the way through cornbread, I was instantly hooked! Best ever for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is very good and provides just the right amount of sweetness. I made muffins and the whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are good but quite crumbly. I substituted butter-flavoured margarine for the butter, reduced the sugar to 4 TBsps. and omitted the vanilla extract. I used roughly 1/3 cup of cornmeal, but cannot be certain on the amount as I simply dumped whatever little bit was left in the bag into this; to compensate however I reduced the baking mix to 1 1/4 cups. I made mini muffins and baked for 15 minutes. I forgot to grease my pan and the bottoms stuck- No matter, we'll still eat them broken and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I followed other reviewers' advice and used 5 tablespoons of sugar, 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla. Also used 1 1/4 c of bisquick and 1/2 cup of cornmeal. The taste was absolutely perfect, however mine came out extremely heavy. I filled the cups 2/3 full with batter and it never rose. Not sure what I did wrong, I did make sure not to over-stir the batter when adding in the cornmeal & bisquick. Any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used my own homemade whole wheat baking mix and buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did add a little more buttermilk (almost another quarter cup) because whole wheat flour tends to be more dry than regular AP flour. These were okay--more like cornmeal flavored biscuits than muffins. I'm glad I used my own baking mix because if I'd used something like Bisquick, I think these would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Just made these... the texture and flavor were good. Added more cornmeal and cut back a little on the bisquick and used 5T of brown sugar instead of the 9T of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I don't know if my review will really "count" as there were drastic changes to the recipe. Firstly I lowered the amount of sugar like several other reviews to 5 tbsp and I was going to add a little bit of honey but I spaced and forgot. Also when I was putting together the bisquit and cornmeal, I found that I only had 3/4 cup of bisquit left- erg. So I upped the cornmeal to 1 cup. I prayed that it wouldnt turn out bad and they didnt! My kids loved them and I like how they were more like corn bread since we were eating it with chili. This recipe is awesome because even if you have to alter it (due to whats in the cupboard) everything should work out. Note: I used buttermilk instead of whole milk but I don't know that it really makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States