Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Very good recipe if you are looking for a sweeter flavored muffin. I really liked the taste the vanilla extract gave it as well. I used buttermilk flavored cornmeal, instead of yellow as it states and it turned out excellent. I was looking for a sweeter type bread to have with a savory roast - so this really was a perfect compliment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a keeper. My family enjoys them. Very easy to make. I use cupcake liners for easy cleanup but of course you don't have to. These are lighter in texture than what I am use to (which is great). Vanilla makes them awesome. Don't take the vanilla out like other reviewers have stated until you tried it first please. We have these with our dinner atleast once a week. Great recipe!!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was better than I thought it would be. Nice light texture and good flavor. I added some corn kernels and doubled the amount of corn meal. Also omitted vanilla, which seemed like an odd thing to put in corn muffins (the amount of vanilla must be a misprint - I don't put that much in my desserts). It takes just as much time to prepare a traditional, from-scratch recipe, which is what I'll probably do in the future because we prefer a denser result. But very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
These were pretty good. They were a little too sugary for me and my husband, but not my 2 year old. I added extra corn meal to the batter to get more of that corn muffin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I am always looking for something new to try, and today was the day for these muffins. I have eaten quite a few corn muffins in my day, but none quite compare to this recipe. The flavor was great (even though I questioned using vanilla in them). The texture was wonderful; light and airy....unlike the "standard" corn muffin. I did however bake them in a LAGRE 6 Cup non-stick muffin pan (I like MUFFINS, not cupcakes), without the liners and sprayed with a bit of cooking spray, they popped out just wonderfully, and were done in just 25 minutes. I immediately ate 2 smothered with some butter and a nice hot cup of coffee. This recipe will definitely be added to my large and growing collection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I used 1/3 of a cup of cornmeal like another user had suggested. I left out the vanilla by accident, but I think that next time I will try adding 1 tsp of it like other users suggested. Overall, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My attempt resulted in a dryer muffin. Otherwise the taste was okay and not too sweet as others have mentioned. May modify the cooking time next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Very good recipe, Kelly! I altered it a little. I added an extra 1/4 cup of cornmeal to make it have more corn taste and used 3/4 cup of milk instead of 2/3. I wouldn't change the amount of vanilla or sugar. Next time I will make it exactly how it's supposed to be made. And believe me, there will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is the best corn muffin recipe I have found so far. This one will be a keeper. I also cut back the sugar to 6 T and the vanilla to 1 tsp. Very Good. Thanks for sharing this good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States