Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
We really liked these corn muffins. I made them in a 8x8 pan instead of doing muffins. My husband, who hates corn bread, even ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
To reduce calories, I used a somehow modified recipe: 2.5 tbs sugar, 2.5 tbs Splenda, 1/8 cup butter, 1/8 cup vegetable oil, and as other suggested, 1 1/4 bisque mix and 1/2 cup corn meal. I am very happy with the modifications: 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I would never call this corn bread. More like " cake with a twist ". Good but just not corn bread. corn bread is 1 cup s.r. white corn meal ( NOT CORN MEAL MIX ) 3/4 cup S.R. flour 1/4 c. oil 1 egg 1 teaspoon sugar buttermilk to make batter a little thicker than cake batter. beat well. bake as muffins or in 10 in.heavy skillet or cake pan 400 deg. till browned about 20 25 min. Thats my moms southern bread and I don't measure so the oil may need adjusting a bit. I am 82 so its an old pan pf bread. Also a quickie for you Pour 1 cup s.r. corn meal into 1 cup boiling water stir quick tii all mix well. Cool a little to handle and make patties as thin as you can and quick fry. yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Definitely more cake than cornbread, but served with Peanut soup, it was a good pairing to offset the spiciness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
These are a little lighter and sweeter than other corn muffin recipes I prefer but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe, thanks so much! The best comment was "these look & taste professional"!! I did change as suggested by other reviewers to less sugar, less mix and more corn meal. Delicious served with Chef Johns Black bean soup, which is THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Rick loves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Good, but definitely cake-ish. Followed the recipe exactly and had a hard time tasting the "corn" part. Daughter loved them, probably because they were so sweet! If I want to do a true cornbread recipe, I'd try a different one. However, they are still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I think the important thing to remember is that is not going to be the best corn muffin ever ~ but it is the best corn muffin using BAKING BISCUIT MIX ~ I modified according to what other reviewer's suggested and this recipe tasted pretty good: decrease sugar to 5 tbsp, decrease vanilla to 1/2 tsp, decrease bisquick to 1 1/4 cup and increase cornmeal to 1/2 cup. Just the right amount of corn taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MunecaBrava
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I also had to make the adjustments suggested for the bisquick mix and sugar and vanilla... Thanks to those adjustments these turned out moist and delicious!! I also had to adjust the cooking time to 15 at 350 since my oven seems to be a bit stronger then other ovens I have cooked in before. Would DEF make these again and have already passed on the recipe to other family members. Also, don't let the batter sit out for any period of time as the cornmeal starts to thicken up fairly quickly once mixed with the wet ingredients. Found these to be a bit gritty but my sister says that real corn muffins are gritty so I guess this is normal. They were still very good and I highly suggest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States