Best Ever Cinnamon Pull Aparts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I made them with the kids...lots of fun! But, the recipe directions are way off. Less cinnamon & sugar. More butter. Less cooking time (thirty minutes). And a bigger pan. But all & all, a great easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
The other reviewers were dead on...this needs more butter! Go ahead and use the same amount of cinnamon and sugar. It is not necessary to actually use the entire mixture, but you need to have enough butter so that when you heat the mixture it makes a smooth syrup instead of a grainy sludge. With the current amount, when the dish cools it caramelizes and is nearly impossible to get out of the pan. 45 minutes is too long, but 15 minutes is too short. I wound up having to check the under layers to see if they were done every five minutes. All that aside, they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
These were good. I baked them in a muffin cup so that each person would get their own individual serving. I didn't have to bake them the entire time...about 17 minutes. They were great. I also reduced the amount of suger a little bit...wanted more of a cream cheese taste. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These were excellent! I was unable to find biscuit tins weighing 10 oz. so since I was doulbing it (we have a family of 8) I bought one of the four packs. I used a whole stick of butter and added a tsp. of vanilla. I cut back to 1 &1/3 cup sugar and 3 Tbsp. cinnamon. I cut up the biscuits as directed and put them in a 9x13 greased cake pan. Melt the butter, add the cinnamon/sugar mixture and stir and cook for a while to cut down on the grainy texture. I added 1 cup pecan pieces when it was at the texture I wanted and since this thickened it up, spoon it all over the top. Bake for 25 minutes and like the whole family said,"de-lish!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I had lower expectations of this recipe due to the use of biscuit dough but was pleasantly surprised. This was pretty good (although I do PREFER other pull-apart recipes over this). STILL-and easy side to breakfast when you don't have time to go through the dough rising processes! I only used 2 cans of biscuit dough b/c they were "Pillsbury Grands" (pretty big) and thanks to all the other cooks that reviewed this before me, used more butter and cooked for less time!! Turned out pretty good and I wouldn't hestitate to make this easy dish again! Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I followed the diretions exactly. Biscuits piece barely fit in *9* inch square cake pan when raw. 1/4c butter with leftover cinnamon and sugar was too dry to even make a paste. 1/2c of butter made a crumbly topping. Put in oven to cook, at 30 minutes the biscuits had overflowd the pan, topping fell off and caught fire in the bottom of the oven!! Pull aparts were still salvageable, but not sweet at all. Had to mix up some cream cheese frosting before even the guys in my house would eat it. The outside biscuits were hard as rocks because I had too cook so long to make sure the middle was done, even after turning the whole mess onto a cookie sheet to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Declan's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
These were good fresh out of the oven, but reheated they were not so great. I will probably try these again. A word of advise to would be bakers though, DO NOT attempt to use a loaf pan. Follow the directions and use a cake pan. I tired a lof pan, and it took 45 minutes to finish all the way through. By the time the middle was done, the top was black. I re-assert though, that fresh, these were pretty darned good. I also restate what several other reviewers said about the cinnamon and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
to much cinnamon ans sugar mix, not enough butter and 45 minuts baking time almost burned them, they puff up so you'll need a bigger pan, so, add more butter, less cinnamon and use a bigger pan and try baking for 25 minuts, they'll be great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This was very easy to make however there was just too much sugar and cinnamon. The next time I make it I will use less sugar and cinnamon and not cook it quite as long maybe 15 or 20 minutes. The cinnamon was so strong I had to open all the windows in the house and go outside to stop sneezing. My 4 and 6 year old loved helping in the kitchen with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I make this almost the same way and we call it Monkey Bread. The only difference is I use a bundt pan and use 1 stick of butter. I own a pecan business so I put lots of pecans!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HINKBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cottonport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States