Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
A fantastic cinnamon roll recipe that my Husband asks me to make again and again so he can take it to work for his coworkers. I get about 24 large rolls from this yield. The dough looks a little sticky at first, but if you keep a healthy amount of flour close and keep adding as needed through the 5 minute knead, it firms up beautifully. Another reviewer suggested the cream cheese frosting, and I won't ice them with anything else...it really makes them bakery quality. To repeat the posted frosting recipe, it's : 1/2 cup butter, softened 8 ounces cream cheese 4 cups confectioners' sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla extract Directions 1 Beat softened butter and cream cheese until well blended. 2 Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Beat until creamy. Makes 2 Cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Heavenly! These rise very slowly in the refrigerator, so you can make them say, in the afternoon, put a pan in the fridge, and bake them the next morning. I'm so happy not to have to slave away in the kitchen at 10:00 the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I made this for Christmas Breakfast, and it was a real hit with the family - light and fluffy, even 3 days later! The author just needs to adjust the amount of suggested flour! (or reduce the amount of water), depending on the quantity of rolls you want. Instead of the 6 c., add 9 c all-purpose flour, and 1 c. more to your desired consistency. The important thing to remember, is NOT to add additional flour after the first rise (dough should be slightly sticky for the light and fluffy part), as flour added in later doesn't mix in well and the result is dry and 'floury'. Also to knead and even 'throw' the dough down on the counter repeatedy, until dough is elastic. Dough took 2 hours to rise, so there is no way it can rise double in 45 minutes. A final recommendation is to bake the rolls only 20 minutes! and anything further creates a dried out pastry that won't be light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These cinnamon buns were awesome. It made a lot more, It made 45 huge cinnamon buns. I opted to make the cream cheese icing as suggested and they were better than Cinnabons. Actually we are having a Christmas Shop at church next week and I've been asked to make these to sell !!!! Great job and thank you for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
These are great!I made them in afternoon, refrigerated overnight and made these excellent cinnamon rolls in morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wow! Highly recommended. Easy and very tasty. I used equal parts of brown and white sugar, also doubled the amount recommemded, to make them super sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Family told me this was a "grand slam". Can't do better than that. One adjustment. Don't know how these could be made with only 2 Tbsp. sugar in the filling. I used lots (about 1 cup) of brown sugar, mixed in the cinnamon and then followed the directions. Superb. The cake mix is the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I made these buns on a Saturday morning for the kids brunch. I made the mistake of running out to the store while they were cooling......they must have been good, cause the kids and friends gobbled them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I have made cinnamon rolls for years and this is the best I have found. My friends love it and have me make them offten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! My husband says he'll never eat another "Cinnabon" again after having these, his new all time fav. I used the dough recipe but doubled the carmel recipe from Kathy Newell's as the topping and the bottem. I brought it to a piano recital and got rave reviews. Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States