Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
WOW! are these good. I was a bit skeptical about using a cake mix to make cinnamon rolls but I am SO glad that I did! These are so flakey and moist. My hubby, who is a huge cinnabon fan, LOVES them!. Only changes were that I used bread flour instead of all purpose, added a tsp of vanilla to the dough mix and doubled the butter and the filling (hey if you are going to be bad be ALL the way bad!). I made a simple cinnamon/vanilla icing drizzle to add a bit of "sweet" to the tops. They turned out great! Take a chance on this recipe. SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Seriously these are the best ever. I was experimenting with several different recipes in an effort to find the perfect one, and now I can stop. Hands down my whole family's favorite. Thank you for this heavenly recipe! It may be the humidity here in Houston, but I knead in at least an extra cup of flour to the sticky dough, just until it's workable. After it rises, stickiness is no longer an issue. And I use soy milk in the icing, for what it's worth. The best part about these rolls, besides the taste of course, is that they're reproducible - I get the exact same yummy result each time. Making them ahead works well, too - I just put the risen rolls in the fridge in their pans and let them come to room temp before I bake. This recipe is also adaptable for being creative. My daughter loves pink, so I tried a strawberry cake mix - delicious! - and then I found that lemon, orange, banana, and chocolate (with Nutella in the middle!) all work well. Sometimes I replace some of the butter in the icing with cream cheese. I'm looking forward to trying brown sugar with the cinnamon next time. Long story short - make them! You'll be glad you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatepah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was the nicest yeast dough I have ever seen, you could do a lot of different stuff just with the dough, but I made two pans of it makes a lot. They were THE BEST EVER!! They take some time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used whole wheat flour to make them and they were not good. My fault, may have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are the best! I made them with Christmas breakfeast. Easier than I thought it would be. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to do the kneading. Using this recipe I made 34 buns. I made the cream cheese frosting that another poster shared and it was great! Thanks for the recipe I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama0607
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
these truly are the best ever! I did change the filling and made my own mixture of 1c butter, 1c each white and brown sugar and some cinnamon. Just kinda tossed it in the bowl and mixed it up, then spread it on the dough before rolling. This made it much for sticky and sweet! yumm! Also I used the cream chz icing instead of the icing listed here. Much more tasty. I've received rave reviews with this recipe. Family and friends asking for the recipe and my inlaws even want me to mail them some! lol One other thing I did after reading other reviews, I let the dough rise for 2 hrs initially. It's work, but well worth it! I highly recommend making this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
OMG!!!!! Wonderful will make these ALL the time now!!! But DO USE PHILLY CHEESE RECIPE FROSTING!! 8oz soft philly 1cup butter creamed together, then add 4 cups conf sugar 1 tsp vanilla. EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I had never made cinnamon buns before. It had been eight years since Ive baked anything besides biscuits from the pioneer mix. This is a good recipe, it's easy to make ok cinnamon rolls, but for really good to great takes a little tweaking the recipe. Ive made this recipe about 8 times now. From following the recipe word for word and having to add more flour, to adjusting the amount of water. Like gardengirl said, you need to adjust the flour or amount of water. The first change I made was to the flour, but the rolls came out a little flat in taste, next time I tried less water it was ok. Third I tried more flour again but added 1/2 cup sugar. I found the adding slightly more flour with sugar to be good. Also after reading gardnergirl I went with a way sticker dough than I had done anytime before and with a harsher/longer kneading, my buns became much fluffier. one key is the rising. It must rise. both before you roll out and after you cut the rolls (use a way sharp knife, I use a steak knife and mind the counter or your wife will totally freak.) for a good rise you need a good yeast mix. may help to add a teaspoon of sugar to yeast mix even if your using 'easy yeast'. also dont roll out too thin, roll it out a little thicker than you think may be necessary this will really help in the fluffy. I roll mine out thick on one end, thin on the starting end then I roll a little loose to much tighter. this gives center room to expand and will alleviate the cinnamon-mountain. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These turned out great yet only because I didn't panic. You say use only 6 cups of flour yet 1 and 1/2 cups of water when dissolving the yeast. This faulty ratio almost wasted a lot of food yet my dad came to the rescue. We ended up using 13 cups of flour because a dough couldn't be made from that original ratio. I strongly suggest you use less water or more flour to save yourself a mess. The end result was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyCheMicALmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States