Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These are wonderful cinnamon buns..and they couldnt get much easier! Wonderful texture..sweet and soft. The cake mix is the secret. I only changed a couple things. I used a bit more butter and melted it in the microwave before pouring it over the rolled out dough. Lots more cinnamon AND BROWN SUGAR INSTEAD OF WHITE SUGAR. For the icing I made a maple cream cheese icing, 8oz of cream cheese softened..add the confectioners sugar,melted butter,vanilla extract and milk..then whip till fluffy.. Instead of spreading the icing over the cinnamon buns, I put the icing in a plastic zip-close bag, snipped off the a corner and drizzled over the buns that way. The cream cheese icing is so wonderfully rich and delicious that I think if you use too much it takes away from the cinnamon. YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE PEOPLE! I HAVE SOLD THESE TO A LOCAL RESTURANT AND PEOPLE ADORE THEM...NEIGHBOR PLACE ORDERS FOR THEM FOR THE HOLIDAYS..HAVE FUN MAKING THESE. MAKING A BATCH TODAY..WILL POST A PHOTO SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah G. Pendell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Consistency is pretty good. I've had problems getting the soft, gooeyness that I love in cinnamon rolls with the recipes I've tried. This was good! The taste just wasn't what I expected, though. It almost tasted like sour dough, honestly. I expect that replacing the veggie oil with maybe softened butter-flavored shortening might help the flavor. I think the dough needs some honey or sugar, as well. Some things that might have been left out for newer cinnamon roll makers: 1) When rolling, roll tightly. After cutting, make sure you pinch the bottom of each piece before placing it in the pan. Otherwise, all the "stuff" just falls out in baking. Cutting with a dull knife or using floss doesn't always work well for me. 2) Using two 9X13 dishes worked well for me, and it made 24 buns. They should be about 3/4 inch or so apart in the pan when you place them. They'll be close together after rising. 3) The second rise might take 45 minutes to an hour. 4) Some people prefer brown sugar as opposed to white sugar for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very easy and delicious! I added extra cinnamon and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha Bellah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this was the best recipe ever. i used another filling so i can only rate the dough, which i believe is the heart of the recipe. it was amazing. i was a little iffy about the recipe calling for yellow cake mix but it took out some of the work of adding extra ingredients. i made the dough at about 4pm before christmas then i popped it in the fridge over night. christmas morning i put in the filling and rolled them up and realized i was supposed to let them rise again and i had a half hour until family arrived for breakfast! i put them in a baking dish on top of the oven hoping some extra heat would help them rise. i only did that for 15 minutes, even though they definately need more time, then i popped them in the oven & in 20 minutes they were finished. they came out more on the doughy side but it was exactly like a cinnabon! everyone LOVED them. i used the icing recipe given on first review. the filling i used was 1/2 c softened butter, 1 c brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon. using a little extra wouldve made them extra gooey. i will be making this again and again and next time i will try letting them rise completely. excellent buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The name says it all. They were very tender and chewy with the right amount of sweetness. The glaze was delicious. I mixed in some cream cheese in and they were the "best ever"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by euphchic
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were delicious. Time consuming and messy...but worth it. My warnings...IT MAKES A TON!!! I put them in 2 8X8 pans and 1 9X13 and once they rose, they were OVERFLOWING!! It was a total of 26 rolls. I made them for our family and each of my neighbors. Also, I used my Kitchen Aide stand mixer and it was too full. As for the recipe, as others recommended it did take about 7.5 c. of flour and I used 1 c. brown sugar and 2.5 T. of cinnamon and butter for the filling. The frosting was sooooo runny! I ended up adding more butter and sugar and it was still like water. Next time I will make a different frosting. I also used soy milk because of our allergies. Skip the frosting and use your own recipe. I will make this again, but for special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by euphchic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were rather dissapointing. The dough originally seemed that it would be perfect, but upon cooking and tasting, the dough is just not quite right for a cinnamon roll. It is more cakey than would be desired for the perfect cinnamon roll. They look good and taste ok, but just ok. I had high hopes for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Okay, I by passed this recipe so many times because it called for cake mix. After failing with the other recipes, I decided to give this a try. OMG these are the best!! They taste just like Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls!! My friends and family were amazed how light and fluffy and oh so good these are....Thank you for sharing this, I will never buy another can of cinnamon rolls again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are the BEST cinnamon rolls I have ever made! I thought they were really easy to make, too. I did have to use about 7.5 cups of flour total but other than that, the recipe is perfect as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Best cinnamon buns I've ever ate! This is my new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States