Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Way tooo much work and mine were brown on the outside but still doughy in some spots in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great recipe! My two suggestions are to use three packages of yeast instead of two. Rises faster and you get a "lighter" result. I also replaced the water with milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yum! Used 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup white sugar, and 2 tbsp of cinnamon for filling- will probably increase that to a cup of each sugar next time. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Family told me this was a "grand slam". Can't do better than that. One adjustment. Don't know how these could be made with only 2 Tbsp. sugar in the filling. I used lots (about 1 cup) of brown sugar, mixed in the cinnamon and then followed the directions. Superb. The cake mix is the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best ever recipe! Thank you!! Only thing I did different was to us 2 cups of warm water and after mixing the cake mix and 1 cup flour I added in only four more cups of flour. The last cup of flour I kneaded in at the end with about 1/2 cup more. Came out perfect! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These are wonderful cinnamon buns..and they couldnt get much easier! Wonderful texture..sweet and soft. The cake mix is the secret. I only changed a couple things. I used a bit more butter and melted it in the microwave before pouring it over the rolled out dough. Lots more cinnamon AND BROWN SUGAR INSTEAD OF WHITE SUGAR. For the icing I made a maple cream cheese icing, 8oz of cream cheese softened..add the confectioners sugar,melted butter,vanilla extract and milk..then whip till fluffy.. Instead of spreading the icing over the cinnamon buns, I put the icing in a plastic zip-close bag, snipped off the a corner and drizzled over the buns that way. The cream cheese icing is so wonderfully rich and delicious that I think if you use too much it takes away from the cinnamon. YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE PEOPLE! I HAVE SOLD THESE TO A LOCAL RESTURANT AND PEOPLE ADORE THEM...NEIGHBOR PLACE ORDERS FOR THEM FOR THE HOLIDAYS..HAVE FUN MAKING THESE. MAKING A BATCH TODAY..WILL POST A PHOTO SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Consistency is pretty good. I've had problems getting the soft, gooeyness that I love in cinnamon rolls with the recipes I've tried. This was good! The taste just wasn't what I expected, though. It almost tasted like sour dough, honestly. I expect that replacing the veggie oil with maybe softened butter-flavored shortening might help the flavor. I think the dough needs some honey or sugar, as well. Some things that might have been left out for newer cinnamon roll makers: 1) When rolling, roll tightly. After cutting, make sure you pinch the bottom of each piece before placing it in the pan. Otherwise, all the "stuff" just falls out in baking. Cutting with a dull knife or using floss doesn't always work well for me. 2) Using two 9X13 dishes worked well for me, and it made 24 buns. They should be about 3/4 inch or so apart in the pan when you place them. They'll be close together after rising. 3) The second rise might take 45 minutes to an hour. 4) Some people prefer brown sugar as opposed to white sugar for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very easy and delicious! I added extra cinnamon and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha Bellah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this was the best recipe ever. i used another filling so i can only rate the dough, which i believe is the heart of the recipe. it was amazing. i was a little iffy about the recipe calling for yellow cake mix but it took out some of the work of adding extra ingredients. i made the dough at about 4pm before christmas then i popped it in the fridge over night. christmas morning i put in the filling and rolled them up and realized i was supposed to let them rise again and i had a half hour until family arrived for breakfast! i put them in a baking dish on top of the oven hoping some extra heat would help them rise. i only did that for 15 minutes, even though they definately need more time, then i popped them in the oven & in 20 minutes they were finished. they came out more on the doughy side but it was exactly like a cinnabon! everyone LOVED them. i used the icing recipe given on first review. the filling i used was 1/2 c softened butter, 1 c brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon. using a little extra wouldve made them extra gooey. i will be making this again and again and next time i will try letting them rise completely. excellent buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States