Best Ever Chuck Wagon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This turned out great... BUT there should be a warning in the recipe for us beginners- do not slice habanero peppers with your bare hands!! I still can't eat the next morning with my hands- my lips are burning off if I touch them. Washing with soap and water will NOT help. Best bet- wear gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Good , basic chili. Since it requires 3 cans of tomato sauce I shouldn't have been surprised that it tasted so 'tomatoey'...but I was. Also, be careful with the habaneros. They are evil hot! Don't touch your eyes after chopping them. Of course your fingers will be tingling a little after handling them so I doubt you'll forget. Next time, I'll reduce the amount of tomato sauce and use a variety of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I just called my husband to tell him that I couldn't promise there would be any chili left for him for dinner tonight! I did tinker a bit with the recipe, but nothing drastic. I cut the recipe in 1/2 first. I don't like beef, so I use a turkey and sausage mixture for most anything calling for it(1/2 and 1/2), ommitted all peppers, used 1 (15 oz.) can Mexican chili beans instead of kidney beans, used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, and added 1/2 tsp of cumin to the orginal spices. It came out absolutely amazing. Thick, a bit spicy (not much b/c I have two small children), and wonderful with Club crackers. No more buying chili in a can for me, ever! Thanks so much for the recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Oh boy, this is like the best chili we've ever had. The only thing I did different is I added some brown sugar to take away some of the tomatoeness, but, I always do that to my tomato based dishes. It helps with the taste. We loved it and will be making this again. We're going to buy some hot dogs and serve this over them. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This chili is extremely bland. No flavor. Liked the peppers and onions though. We added the spices from Flatlander chili and it was much better. Still needed heat though. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Yum, great recipe. I only used one pound of ground beef and one can of tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatoes, then added some cumin, oregano and a teaspoon of cocoa. I also skipped the habanero and added a sprinkle of ground red pepper instead of the hot sauce. This is great served with tortilla chips and tastes even better the second day. It's great served with a little shredded cheddar and some fresh chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I cooked for football game and people loved it. I added a can of hot rotel tomatoes (drained) to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
was reeeeally good. i changed it a little by adding 2 cans of tomatoes and i used a jalapeno because i was afraid of the habanero. my husband and my 2 year old both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I serve this chili every October at our annual pumpkin carving party and it's always a hit. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
awesome! My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lardge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States