Best Ever Chuck Wagon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I just called my husband to tell him that I couldn't promise there would be any chili left for him for dinner tonight! I did tinker a bit with the recipe, but nothing drastic. I cut the recipe in 1/2 first. I don't like beef, so I use a turkey and sausage mixture for most anything calling for it(1/2 and 1/2), ommitted all peppers, used 1 (15 oz.) can Mexican chili beans instead of kidney beans, used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, and added 1/2 tsp of cumin to the orginal spices. It came out absolutely amazing. Thick, a bit spicy (not much b/c I have two small children), and wonderful with Club crackers. No more buying chili in a can for me, ever! Thanks so much for the recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
this chili is delicious. Although I doubled the recipie with half the onion and green pepper and it was plenty. Still, very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I thought this was really good! I have never made chili before, but it turned out great! I added 2 cloves of garlic with the peppers and onions, and used an extra can of tomato sauce. I ended up putting in about 3 tsp. of sugar to cut back on the acidity from the tomatoes. I also left out the pepper, so it wasn't very spicy, but I added a little bit of Cayenne pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This turned out great... BUT there should be a warning in the recipe for us beginners- do not slice habanero peppers with your bare hands!! I still can't eat the next morning with my hands- my lips are burning off if I touch them. Washing with soap and water will NOT help. Best bet- wear gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This chili was good! Not the best, but easy and tasty. I don't like soupy chili so i took the advice of a previous reviewer and used only 2/3s of the tomato sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. Also, to keep it on the lighter side, I used ground turkey instead of beef. In the end it lacked a little somthing, so I added a cube of mexican chocolate and a dash of cumin and that made it really yummy! Over all, this is a quick, easy, and tasty chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was the first time I ever made chili, and I have to say it turned out pretty good. However, I did add a bit more habanero pepper because I like it hot, however it wasnt a great idea, as it turned out to be a little too hot. It was still really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Wonderful recipe. This is my new chili recipe. I have made it numerous times. Just the right amount of spice with a wonderful flavor. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
My husband and daughter loved this chili because of its thickness. Personally, I thought it was too "tomatoey" and was planning to add a little bit of sugar to combat the acidity of the tomatoes when they went on and on about this chili. I would rate it between a 3.5 and 4 for my personal taste. Thought it lacked heat and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I used 1/2 sausage and 1/2 hamburger, based on what I had available in the freezer, and the taste was excellent. This recipe received rave reviews from my wife and son--both somewhat particular eaters. This recipe doesn't offer chunks of tomato, which I missed a little, but the flavor was excellent. I used several drops of hot sauce and probably 1/2 teaspoon of hot wings sauce and though the chili was hotter than a normal batch, I didn't end up with a flavor even close to tex/mex hot. If you like HOT, consider adding more hot sauce than the recipe calls for -- but use caution (add a little at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Very good recipe! I changed it a little bit by adding 2 cloves of minced garlic, and instead of habenero pepper I did 2 jalepeno peppers not seeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States