Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
WOW, What great chocolate flavor!! My kids loved them! They are very easy to make!! Simple ingredients. Let the dough warm up a little after refridgerating its easier to roll and use flour to roll them on, they come up easy with a spatula after you roll them to transfer them to your cookie sheet. Yummy, these didnt last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Boy, was I disappointed with these! I wanted to make them in bat and cat shapes for a Halloween party, and couldn't find a suitable amount of time to bake them for - they either burned or were raw, and in either case they broke very easily. And after all that, they didn't even taste that good! Still searching for a "best ever" chocolate cutout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
We LOVED this cookie recipe! I made them for Valentine's Day this week, icing them with an almond-flavored confectionary glaze in pink and white. They were very pretty--but, more importantly, very yummy! I love sugar cookies, so these were right up my alley. I think my kids still prefer traditional sugar cookies, but they enjoyed these too. Recipe was very simple and the cookies really kept their shape nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I liked this cookie! It had a really good chocolate flavor but not too sweet. It was simple to make, too. I skipped the cutout part (too time consuming) and just formed the dough into two logs about 2-3 inches wide. When it was chilled I sliced it into 1/8" slices. I baked it on parchment for about 9 minutes. These would be perfect with coffee or to make your own ice cream sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Instead of using flour when cutting out shapes, use cocoa powder! That way you cant see the flour after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
A wonderfully cookie. It doesn't need any icing since it is sweet enough as is. I used this recipe to make chocolate Easter bunny cookies, complete with pink ears and nose, and white whiskers using piping icing and sprinkles. They are adorable and a great compliment to my Easter feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Wow, what a cookie. Easy to make, easy to roll and cut. They taste like a thin brownie, soft and delicious. My son had a horse/cowboy birthday party this year, and I was looking for a chocolate recipe so the horse head cutout cookies could be already brown and not need to frost them! I just added a brown mini-m&m eye and they looked and tasted perfect! My son the cowboy and I thank you for a great recipe!!!! I'm sure to use it for several upcoming occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I made these cookies for a cookie decorating party, and they were a huge hit. Everyone loved the delicate chocolate flavor. I liked them a lot because the cutout cookies didn't lose thier shape, as so many cutout cookies do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This is my favorite chocolate cutout cookie recipe. I make these every valentine's day: heart-shaped sandwiches with pink icing in the middle. They have a great chocolatey flavor without being too sweet. I use "sugar cookie icing" for my pink icing with these. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Well, after all these wonderful reviews, I have to wonder why this recipe doesn't work for me. I bake a lot and have tried this recipe three times now, and every time, the cookies fall apart either when they're being removed from the cookie sheet or when they're being handled as I frost/decorate them. They taste good--very rich--, roll out easily, and cut easily, but it's Cookie Crumb City from then on. 'Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States