Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Disaster! The cookies started perfectly doughy, i cut them into 1/8inch thick stars with my cookie cutter, and placed them in the oven for 6 minutes. I check them later and they are one giant wafer-thin bubbly cookie. They tasted good, but they were crazy! The butter in the cookies melted and 'boiled' the cookies! These were NOTHING like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reindeary

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TarynG
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
They were a hit at the New Year's party I brought them to. I found the dough difficult to roll out after taking it out of the fridge, and the cut-outs fell apart if I wasn't very careful when moving them, even though I rolled them thicker than instructed. Overall they turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Girlyone123
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Not very chocolately. They were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are pretty good. They taste similar to a thin brownie. Used the recipe to make bumble bee "B" cookies for preschoolers, and they turned out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Went with an additional whole egg and added some more spices - it was soft, but after refrigerating it overnight it worked out well. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Super delicious and unbelievably easy! The dough seemed a little on the dry side but they turned out perfect. I don't like my cookies overly sweet, so I cut down the sugar to 1 cup and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These turned out pretty good- really rich and chocolately. However, I did follow others' advice and added a teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg. I ended up making them a bit thicker as well. Good for bigger stencils but fell apart in any shapes that had littler pieces (like with Rudolph's antlers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Windham
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome cookies! They taste just like brownies, but they look so very pretty! These will become a staple in our home from now on! Everybody loved them! How did we do it: we added vanilla and cinnamon, as other reviewers suggested and rolled them just a bit thicker. They didn't break as long as they stayed flat. They are fragile though, not hard as the white sugar cookies I have tried so far, but who cares?.... They disappear so very quickly, nobody notices the head of the snowman broke of... No crumbling though, whatsoever! I don't know why other reviewers had that problem. Ours came out perfect! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were awesome! So tasty! They are like very rich brownie-cookies. I used Special Dark cocoa powder which made them darker in color and they had a dark chocolate taste. I had no trouble with the dough being crumbly. It mixed up very well and once it was chilled, it was easy to work with. I used cocoa powder instead of flour to roll these out and that worked nicely and the cookies looked neater with no white streaks. I did notice that if you make the cut outs too thick, they are more apt to break. I baked these for 8 or 9 minutes, then let them cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. I drizzled them with red and green confectioners glaze for christmas and it was very striking against the almost black cookies. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the dough. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it will become a regular for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I cut down on the sugar, added more flour. Taste is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States